Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was great, I've made it twice already and am craving it again. I wasn't sure how much to use so if you have that same question, here's what worked for me. I cooked a 2 1/2 pound pork loin (tenderloin wasn't as good) cut in half in the slow cooker for 8 hours on low (just pour a beer over it, season it with salt and pepper and throw in some garlic cloves). Then I shredded it using two forks and put it back in the crock pot and added this sauce in the "16 serving" size (1/2 cup of each vinegar). I like it extra spicy, so I added more cayenne pepper and also some habanero hot sauce (1T-ish). Just heat it through for 15 minutes and it's DELICIOUS. Extra-good with fresh sliced onions and cole slaw on them. Made enough for 16 well-stacked sandwiches. I'm making this for the next family get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larra Van Dyke

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
now this is how we do it in east nc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I FIND IT REALLY HARD TO PASS UP RATING A SAUCE THATS TITLE CAROLINA BBQ SAUCE, LET ME SAY AGAIN AS A EAST CAROLINA GIRL THIS IS THE TRUE EASTERN CAROLINA WAY. VINEGAR VINGAR VINEGAR, THATS THE KEY, ALSO THIS VERSION YOU DO NOT COOK. WHICH IS MOSTLY HOW I USE IT, IT IS BEST ON PORK BUT CHICKEN RULES ALSO, USE IT THROUGH OUT THE GRILLING PROCESS. IF USED ONLY ON COOKED MEAT IT WILL BE OVER POWERING. ALSO I ALWAYS USE RED PEPPER FLAKES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Wow. This is great stuff! We moved to NC about a year ago and wherever I can try pulled pork with this type of BBQ sauce, I do. Never had it before moving here!! I followed a recipe on RecipeZaar (at least the cooking part) for a Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich but I used Szeged "World's Best" Rib Rub (it is in a can, usually in the 'import' section of your grocery store) rather than making my own. Sprinkled that on the pork butt, wrapped it several times over in plastic wrap and stuck it in the fridge for 12 hours prior to cooking. Plopped it in the crock pot, put 1/2 of this sauce in there and set it to cook for the day. Shredded the meat, added some more sauce, put it on a roll with some coleslaw spooned on top and viola... a sandwich to rival local restaurants... and most importantly, my kids loved it.... ESPECIALLY the sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is what makes North Cack bbq the best in the country. I was born and raised in Greensboro, NC and have been eating both "Lexington Style" and "Eastern Style" Que all my life. This recipe gets it about as right as I have seen for Eastern NC style. The only suggestion to make it even more "Carolina" authentic is to substitute the Tabasco with Texas Pete. Texas Pete has a little bit different flavor than Tabasco and you will never walk into a "real" North Carolina BBQ spot without seeing a bottle of Texas Pete on all the tables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Being Tarheel born and Tarheel bred, if this recipe got any more "eastern Carolina" we'd be getting our feet wet! I do pulled pork often and this sauce is its crowning glory! Many, Many thanks for a taste of home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe for Carolina BBQ. If you are unfamiliar with this style of BBQ you may not like it. I slow cooked a 7 pound pork butt for about 17 hours on my Kamado BBQ, shredded it and put it in a crock-pot with all of the sauce. I served it with Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw recipe with the pork on a hamburger bun. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Busch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
The best recipe I have found for Eastern carolina BBQ Yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Growing up in NC, I've eaten a lot of NC BBQ but I've never made it myself. All I could taste was vinegar. What did I do wrong? I followed the recipe EXACTLY. I was hoping for something like Smithfield's BBQ but this was sour and overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I lived in Raleigh NC for 3 years and enjoyed the BBQ. This is as close as you will get to the real deal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States