Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
The best recipe I have found for Eastern carolina BBQ Yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
now this is how we do it in east nc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
H O T ! ! This is authentic, but spicier than the restaurants I've visited. Perhaps I always got the "mild" version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEOBLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
Great recipe- I used a cajun mix of spices instead of the cayenne and it worked out very well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Canaan, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This was good but being from Texas, our bbq is different. I added some worsteshire and regular bbq sauce to make it more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Great..Who would have thought that you could have so many variances in different BBQ sauces. I never thought I would eat anything differently than the way we do it here in good old alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe for Carolina BBQ. If you are unfamiliar with this style of BBQ you may not like it. I slow cooked a 7 pound pork butt for about 17 hours on my Kamado BBQ, shredded it and put it in a crock-pot with all of the sauce. I served it with Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw recipe with the pork on a hamburger bun. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I FIND IT REALLY HARD TO PASS UP RATING A SAUCE THATS TITLE CAROLINA BBQ SAUCE, LET ME SAY AGAIN AS A EAST CAROLINA GIRL THIS IS THE TRUE EASTERN CAROLINA WAY. VINEGAR VINGAR VINEGAR, THATS THE KEY, ALSO THIS VERSION YOU DO NOT COOK. WHICH IS MOSTLY HOW I USE IT, IT IS BEST ON PORK BUT CHICKEN RULES ALSO, USE IT THROUGH OUT THE GRILLING PROCESS. IF USED ONLY ON COOKED MEAT IT WILL BE OVER POWERING. ALSO I ALWAYS USE RED PEPPER FLAKES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by griller3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
vinegar is a bit overpowering otherwise excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spencer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is a very authentic Eastern Carolina-style sauce. It's spicy and great on pulled pork. I added a little onion powder, garlic powder, and a little dried thyme, but other than that, it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States