Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Classic style vinegar based carolina bbq sauce..I tweaked it a little and added red pepper flakes and paprika for color..then i put it on the fire and brought it to a quick boil,to help marry the spices..then took it off the heat and let cool... Thanks RODEO3829...it was very good !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great recipe...I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
If you are looking for an authentic Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce, look no further my friend. THIS IS IT!!! It is on the hot side but it's absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is all about the vinegar and as any true Carolina pulled pork sandwich lover, thats the key to a great sandwich! I substituted a combination of red wine and malt vinegar for the cider vinegar and it tasted great. I also added more Tabasco to ratchet up the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I live in the Sandhills, and this is as good as it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Great sauce! I made a tenderloin the day before and then made the BBQ the next day with this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Fabulous!! A taste of home out here in the west!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I use this sauce as a marinade for chicken and cook my pork for pulled pork in it. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I have been craving BBQ from Moore's BBQ in New Bern, NC for a few years now. Since I am on the other side of the country, I have to make the BBQ and the sauce myself and I have to tell you, this is the best Eastern NC bbq sauce recipe I have found and it reminds me of the taste of the sauce used at Moore's. My husband even loves it and he's not even from the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is what makes North Cack bbq the best in the country. I was born and raised in Greensboro, NC and have been eating both "Lexington Style" and "Eastern Style" Que all my life. This recipe gets it about as right as I have seen for Eastern NC style. The only suggestion to make it even more "Carolina" authentic is to substitute the Tabasco with Texas Pete. Texas Pete has a little bit different flavor than Tabasco and you will never walk into a "real" North Carolina BBQ spot without seeing a bottle of Texas Pete on all the tables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States