Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Definitely a good sauce! It was a little peppery for my husband but not nearly as much bite once it was on the meat than by itself. I ended up cooking it on the stove since I didnt have a few days to wait for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My dad loved this sauce, said it was like his mama use to make! I put it on pulled pork in the crockpot. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Super Easy, Very Authentic, Great Flavor. I used Texas Pete's Hot sauce since I had no Tobasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I thought this sauce was very good, but a little to tangy for me. Next time, I will use the full amount of cider vinegar and leave out the white vinegar for a more mellow flavor. I also reduced the cayenne pepper and added red pepper flakes since I saw that in so many other NC BBQ sauce recipes on this site. I did enjoy this sauce and I will try it again when we make pulled pork in the slow cooker so it will have time to mellow out while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I've tried many BBQ sause recipes and this one is by far the best, however I added shaved orange peelings to it and a couple of orange slices and it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
The best, I have been ordering a sause online from a vendor I will not mention. This sause is so close to the other sause I will make my own from now on. Thank you so much for the recipie.... this is the best NC Sause you will find, make lots you will use it on everything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob0815
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Sorry, I was hoping this would really be a hit. It was too vinegary (even though eastern NC style sauce IS vinegary). It lacked something, I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This sauce is awesome! I grew up on Eastern North Carolina BBQ and its my absolute favorite and this tastes like my favorite restaurant! I've made it a couple of times and its great everytime!! I wouldn't change it at all, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I followed recipe to the exact amounts and the vinegar was a bit over powering. I would def. make again, I would just cut back on the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
A little undecided on this one. I think the flavor was nice, but our chicken that we cooked on the grill came out very very dry. I'm giving this recipe three stars because we are all novices at grilling here, so it could have been how we cooked it. Also, barbecue (low & slow) is traditionally different than grilling (fast and hight) so that could have made a difference. I'm going to try this again in the slow cooker and see if that makes a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States