Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Good, could decrease the vinegar some. The best recipe similar to eastern NC bar b que I've found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I added a tablespoon of white sugar, an onion slice (finely chopped) and 3 tablespoons of red wine vinegar for the great taste of home. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was SOOOOOOO good! It was way too spicy for me to eat as much as I wanted, but I will def make it again...with alot less cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I have searched for a recipe like this for 22 years. Ever since I had this style BBQ in Goldsboro, NC. I was a huge success. Even people that don't like spicy stuff loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I used to work in a very successful BB-Q house in eastern NC, and the only thing that your recipe is missing is the juice of one lemon. This recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I've only had Eastern Carolina sauce a few times, so I can't say for sure how accurate this is. But I can tell you it's a very tasty BBQ sauce option. I made it a tad spicier and sweeter than called for and I simmered it on the stove for a little while to help the flavors meld faster. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Excellent! Lived in N.C. as a child and this is the way I remember the BBQ. I used Texas Pete as the hot sauce and used a tablespoon of crushed Red Pepper to replace the cayenne. It tastes great either way. An excellent recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Exceptional Eastern NC BBQ Sauce. Reminds me of B's BBQ in Greenville. So good it'll make you slap yo mamma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I used red pepper flakes instead of ground cayenne pepper - I have a bottle of this in my fridge at all times! Use a little of this, a pork butt and a crock pot - cook until it pulls apart with w forks ('pulled pork'), drain the juice. Serve on a hamburger bunn with more sauce and really good coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Excellent! Just like the eastern north Carolina vinegar sauce that is so popular in restaurants, My family will always enjoy this recipes...easy to make! Great with emeril 's. Coleslaw recipe for barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States