Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I'm a native NCian. I prefer fancier vinegars to the white + cider vinegar. Fruit-infused ones are really great, especially something complementary to pork like a fig vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Lankford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very good missed Eastern Carolina BBQ and gave this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
First time with NC BBQ pork shoulder. Specifically East North Carolina BBQ. I seasoned the pork with salt, pepper, Old Bay and used a little mesquite smoke on the Weber for 6 hours. I couldn't find the cayenne pepper in my pantry so I used Emeril's essence and it was still plenty spicy. After I tasted it, I thought it should be sweeter so I added another tablespoon and a half of brown sugar. I poured half the sauce over the 5 pounds of pulled meat. It didn't need any more than that. I'm from Chicago, lived in Texas and had a lot of bbq. I was impressed with the simplicity and flavor. I'm definitely doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
A little too hot for me, but the hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Excellent! The whole family gobbled it up. I added 2 tsp. of the cayenne pepper and of the Tabasco sauce instead of the Tbsp. We live in Ecuador and were missing Carolina BBQ. So glad to find this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Good BBQ sauce. Just added 2 teaspoons of lemon juice. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Yup, this is how we make our sauce here in eastern NC. I do add crushed red pepper and a little more Texas Pete to mine. You can pour it by the gallon on a whole hog, or you can use it to prepare NC-style BBQ in your slow cooker. It's also good over grilled chicken, which is what we had for a 4th of July lunch. Thanks for sharing our eastern NC way of making BBQ sauce with all of the Allrecipeeps. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
So easy and so good. Its the only recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Newtown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I don't care for BBQ sauce, but when I mix this sauce w/ a little BBQ sauce, I can tolerate it a lot better. By itself - it can be a little strong (for me), but still a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I LOVE this. I fool around with the hotness by adding crushed pepper flakes. A must for pulled pork sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States