Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Not sure how to rate this. the sauce taste great and loved it. would give it 5 stars. However I couldnt figure out how to cook with it. not really a sauce where you can apply it to anything. but was more of a liquid. I decided top crockpot a beef roast and make a pull pork sandwiches out of it. it was very good but becuase of the liquid added by the cooking of meat it lost some of it punch but was very good. I tried to think of a way to thicken it. thought abotuu adding ketchup, tomato paste and mustard. but then it would lost the nc BBQ sauce label. So I give the recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Great recipe i'm from eastern NC but live here in Japan now, this recipe made me feel like I was home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Wow. This is great stuff! We moved to NC about a year ago and wherever I can try pulled pork with this type of BBQ sauce, I do. Never had it before moving here!! I followed a recipe on RecipeZaar (at least the cooking part) for a Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich but I used Szeged "World's Best" Rib Rub (it is in a can, usually in the 'import' section of your grocery store) rather than making my own. Sprinkled that on the pork butt, wrapped it several times over in plastic wrap and stuck it in the fridge for 12 hours prior to cooking. Plopped it in the crock pot, put 1/2 of this sauce in there and set it to cook for the day. Shredded the meat, added some more sauce, put it on a roll with some coleslaw spooned on top and viola... a sandwich to rival local restaurants... and most importantly, my kids loved it.... ESPECIALLY the sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I had trouble rating this recipe. I've never had authentic N.C. BBQ before so I can't judge it against that. My boyfriend and I both love spice and vinegar so I thought this would be an instant hit. We both initially thought it was missing some body and thickness. I took about half the sauce and added a tbsp or so of Dijon mustard to it and mixed it up well. To me, that made it perfect. I got the spice and vinegar plus a consistency I liked. After 2 or 3 ribs, the boyfriend decided he liked the authenic version. So I'm meeting him in the middle and giving this recipe 4 stars. Maybe someday I'll make it to a pig pickin' and see if N.C. vinegar sauce is just not to my taste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
FABULOUS! It's tongue and lip smacking GOOD! Makes me wish I was born and raised in NC. I've made this recipe twice already and used it for more than just pulled pork. It's been wonderful each time. This recipe/sauce will be a staple in my house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
My husband spent a good deal of his childhood years living in Elizabeth City, NC. I made this sauce especially for him. He can't get enough of it. I like it too, however, I still prefer my sweet, saucy VA style bbq. It'll definately be delicious with some good cole slaw on it. I recommend restaurant- style coleslaw 1 from this site. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was great, I've made it twice already and am craving it again. I wasn't sure how much to use so if you have that same question, here's what worked for me. I cooked a 2 1/2 pound pork loin (tenderloin wasn't as good) cut in half in the slow cooker for 8 hours on low (just pour a beer over it, season it with salt and pepper and throw in some garlic cloves). Then I shredded it using two forks and put it back in the crock pot and added this sauce in the "16 serving" size (1/2 cup of each vinegar). I like it extra spicy, so I added more cayenne pepper and also some habanero hot sauce (1T-ish). Just heat it through for 15 minutes and it's DELICIOUS. Extra-good with fresh sliced onions and cole slaw on them. Made enough for 16 well-stacked sandwiches. I'm making this for the next family get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is it!!! I lived in ENC for over 16 years and grew to love this BBQ sauce. My son found this recipe and referred me to it. It is the real thing or as close as you can get. I have enjoyed making it a few times now and always swear I hear the ocean roaring as I'm eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this to use with Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork. It was very flavorful, but very spicy. I made it 2 days ahead of time so that the flavors could mingle. I added it to the meat after it was shredded and let it simmer for a couple of hours. I might try halving the cayenne pepper and Tabasco next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States