Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Delicious!!! Just what I have been looking for…reminds me of growing up going to "pig pickin's" while living in Goldsboro, NC. I now live in Alabama and I made this sauce for a church cookout…it was gone in minutes! It's a little on the spicy side, which is fine with me. I added a little bit more brown sugar for a sweeter taste. Already have people requesting me to make them a batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This recipe deserves high praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I found that this recipe gave me a decent baseline for understanding HOW to make a Carolina BBQ (I'm a New Englander), but I definitely had to make some adjustments. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out very thin and watery, and the vinegar flavor was totally overpowering. So I tried making it a second time, and what I did to combat these issues was actually pretty simple: I cut the amount of vinegar in half, and added some blackstrap molasses to balance out the flavor and add some more body. The result was absolutely delicious, and I highly recommend trying it that way. Although I am from up North, I have had the authentic Carolina BBQ sauce before, and I don't think that my adjustments hurt the integrity at all, or at least it didn't alter the makeup enough to render it unrecognizable as a Carolina BBQ. If the way I ended up doing it was how it was initially written up, I would have given this recipe a sure-fire five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Zeidler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
The Best! Also, mixed In little corn starch and used it to finish ribs on the grill. I also made a batch and added Dijon mustard to it. Highly recommend if the vinegar is too over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Stevens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I'm a native NCian. I prefer fancier vinegars to the white + cider vinegar. Fruit-infused ones are really great, especially something complementary to pork like a fig vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Lankford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very good missed Eastern Carolina BBQ and gave this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
First time with NC BBQ pork shoulder. Specifically East North Carolina BBQ. I seasoned the pork with salt, pepper, Old Bay and used a little mesquite smoke on the Weber for 6 hours. I couldn't find the cayenne pepper in my pantry so I used Emeril's essence and it was still plenty spicy. After I tasted it, I thought it should be sweeter so I added another tablespoon and a half of brown sugar. I poured half the sauce over the 5 pounds of pulled meat. It didn't need any more than that. I'm from Chicago, lived in Texas and had a lot of bbq. I was impressed with the simplicity and flavor. I'm definitely doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
A little too hot for me, but the hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Excellent! The whole family gobbled it up. I added 2 tsp. of the cayenne pepper and of the Tabasco sauce instead of the Tbsp. We live in Ecuador and were missing Carolina BBQ. So glad to find this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Good BBQ sauce. Just added 2 teaspoons of lemon juice. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States