Easter Surprise Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ritzyness
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Recipe was easy to follow with basic ingredients you typically have on hand. I substituted the Regular Twizzlers for the colorful ones which didn't work out as they were too soft and kept tipping over. I suggest leaving the Twizzlers out of the bag separated for a while so they harden as they'll stay bent and maintain the shape without collapsing. The finished product is super cute and your kids can help you decorate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
For those having problems with the egg sinking, add them last and poke them down into the batter until just the top is showing. The batter will rise up and cover them. I'm sorry, but I did not care for the taste of the cupcake. It tasted like a big, overly sweet sugar cookie. I used the converter to halve this recipe and it only made ten cupcakes (no biggy, but just a warning for those needing an exact amount). I also found that I needed the full 20 minutes and then some, checking constantly. I like the idea, but will try again with another cake flavor that I love. On the plus side, these were very moist and came out of the silicone liners with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe. I was worried about the egg melting. So I unwrapped them a popped them in the fridge for 1/2 hour before putting them in the cakes. Didn't have any problems with melting. The only problem I had was not eating them all before I decorated them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khask1

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Wow! These are very tasty and quick treats that your family is sure to enjoy!!!! When I first saw them, I knew I had to save this to my recipe box. Later today, I tried it out for the first time, and everyone wanted seconds!!!My only precaution is that you will most likely NOT turn out with 24, but end up with 23.So, if you are expecting EXACTLY 24 people to come by and eat your treats, don't count on it all the way...But other than that single flaw, it's a delectable treat for everyone with an appetite for sweets!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treedomes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
You can use 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar for a lighter taste. I frosted these with butter cream grass and had chocolate eggs with a Peeps sitting on the nest. Happy Easter everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Super Delicious CUPCAKES! Follow the recipe and you will be very happy like Me! ;}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contor81
Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
they were good my neice loved them. we had a big easter party and this is what i served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
A fun recipe! I had to make it without muffin cups (because I forgot to buy them, silly me) and I found the chocolate eggs sank RIGHT to the bottom. My advice would be to put a bit more batter at the bottom of the cup than you think you need - that way the egg can sink to the middle! All in all though - delicious! I made mine with colored sprinkles funfettying the top! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June the Homemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Just not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I was so disappointed. The cupcake it's self was good but the "eggs" fell right out the bottom or was stuck right in the bottom kind of defeating the "surprise".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easter Eggshell Cupcakes

Chick it out! Bake these cute little cakes inside your Easter eggshells.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States