Easter Story Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
do you have to have the almands
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I have been looking for this recipe for a long time! I'm so glad you have it on here. My mother used to make this recipe with me when I was young, but somehow the recipe got lost and she couldn't remember it. She and I would also tape the oven door shut to "seal the tomb".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
These cookies have been an Easter Eve tradition for years now. Great recipe! And the Message behind it (along with the verses) is an excellent teaching opportunity for the true meaning of Easter. I do make one very important modification. My family hates nuts. I use MINI chocolate chips (and still beat them in the bag). My hubby can't get enough of these cookies! They are sweet but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I originally received this recipe from a very dear friend of my mother's, but her version was called Overnight Oven Cookies I believe. As I lost that recipe, I ended up here. Can't speak to the religious nature of the cookies, but I can say that for someone forced into a gluten free diet these cookies are fab. It takes time (and many failures) to get the alternative flour thing down, so this recipe offers a particularly good alternative to horrifically expensive GF store-bought cookies (providing patience (or a bad memory) is a virtue you possess).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I am giving 5 stars not for the tasty (I don't really like them- too sweet), but for the story and experience that goes with them. A good family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Amazing cookies!! We now have a new Easter eve tradition! I made the following changes: almonds instead of pecans and add 1 tsp of vanilla for extra flavor. We made these the night before Easter and then brought some to Easter dinner with the rest of the family. They were a BIG hit! My son loved making them and retelling the Easter story to the family at Easter dinner. Everyone kept asking where I found the recipe, how we made these and how we got them to be hollow. We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
What a neat way to teach kids about Jesus! I followed the recipe except added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. I used a kitchen aid mixer and whipped on high for 10 minutes, then another 2 minutes and finally another 2 minutes. I got about 28 small to medium sized beautifully white and delicate cookies! I used crushed walnuts in only half the batter. I think they tastes rather good and ate 3 myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was a very nice activity for our whole family. The cookies didn't taste all that great (I think I'll reduce the pecans by half next time), but it didn't matter. The beauty is in the symbolism. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It was a wonderful way to remind ourselves, and our children, what Easter is really about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I think these were very good for what they are. I was much more interested in the scriptural lesson for the kids than I was in the end product. My husband gave them a 3 but ate almost the whole batch and proclaimed them addictive. I added a teaspoon of vanilla during the sugar step, without which these cookies would have been very bland. Not bad, mind you, just bland. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States