Easter Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
This recipe has been revised to include the two missing pie crusts. The recipe calls for 4 pie crusts total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Excellent. Word of advice...do NOT add onions and garlic. Also, mozzarella cheese is not authentic in this recipe. Do not use bacon instead of prosciutto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This is it! This is the recipe my Nonna used to make. I can't wait to make it for my family. The only difference is that Nonna's pie was made in a square pyrex glass baking dish and she made a lattice top using a zig-zag style ravioli cutter to make the strips. Thanks so much for bringing back a little bit of family history to our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I loved this recipe. I halved the recipe and used a springform pan and it looked beautiful and tasted wonderful. I also left off the top crust as someone else suggested and it turned out great. It will be on my list for favorite Easter recips. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This was my first attempt at making an Easter meat pie. I have had several others that friends have made. THis was a little lighter than theirs, and I liked it better. The only change I made was I left off the top crust, and baked till the chese was a golden color. Absolutely perfect!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Maybe this last year for Easter, I will be making it again this year. It was wonderful! My Italian husband and both of our families loved it. My mother in law said it was the best she'd ever had, inculding hers! I almost fell off my chair. Highly recommened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
My husband is Italian. His aunt used to make this, except that she used pizza dough instead of a pie shell. I used the pizza dough with this recipe and my husband said it was as good as his Aunts! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Not bad! I halved the recipe with no problems. From the start, it seemed to need a little spice. So I sauteed an onion, 2 garlic cloves and one jalapeno. I used one pound ground turkey instead of all that pork, to which I added the onion, garlic, pepper mix. To the cheese mixture, I added italian seasoning, cumin and paprika. I mixed the meat mixture with the cheese as per the recipe. But I made it crustless, so I just put it all into one 9 x 13 lasagne pan, sprinkled the parmesan, and then baked it as instructed. It came out as a very pretty meat pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I served this at Easter brunch with hot sauce and salsa for guests to top the pies with. I didn't use a top crust because it looks more beautiful with a top of golden brown cheese. Use low-fat/lean meats! This has so much flavor you won't miss the fat and it won't be so greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very nice recipe. My family calls this Pizza Rustica and if you go to the Italian bakery or deli, that is what it is called there too. For those who said this was rich & salty, it is due to the fact of all of the cured meats and cheeses. So a small piece will do. Use low salt ham if possible. I also use another cured meat which is called sopressata, and a small amount of provalone cheese diced small. The pie usually has a mix of 7 meats and cheeses, just like Christmas Eve's Feast of the Seven Fishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States