Easter Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Excellent. Word of advice...do NOT add onions and garlic. Also, mozzarella cheese is not authentic in this recipe. Do not use bacon instead of prosciutto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This was ok, but nothing really outstanding. I wish I'd used regular bacon instead of prosciutto - it was a bit of a waste as you couldn't really taste it, plus it made the filling rather salty. This would have been good with some onion, mushrooms and a little garlic; also some extra-sharp Cheddar in addition to the Parmesan. I'm glad I tried it but I can't imagine I'll be making it again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I served this at Easter brunch with hot sauce and salsa for guests to top the pies with. I didn't use a top crust because it looks more beautiful with a top of golden brown cheese. Use low-fat/lean meats! This has so much flavor you won't miss the fat and it won't be so greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This pie is outstanding. Had it two years ago. I substituted one of the meats for another. Loved it. Big hit at daughter's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Not bad! I halved the recipe with no problems. From the start, it seemed to need a little spice. So I sauteed an onion, 2 garlic cloves and one jalapeno. I used one pound ground turkey instead of all that pork, to which I added the onion, garlic, pepper mix. To the cheese mixture, I added italian seasoning, cumin and paprika. I mixed the meat mixture with the cheese as per the recipe. But I made it crustless, so I just put it all into one 9 x 13 lasagne pan, sprinkled the parmesan, and then baked it as instructed. It came out as a very pretty meat pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Outstanding!!!!! This is such an unbelievably easy recipe that leaves you wishing it lastest longer!! I shared it with women at work and they too made this with a few modifications that simply improved an already wonderful recipe. Some added spinach, while others added peppers and garlic powder with onions! AHHHHH and MMMMM... Will definitely be a family keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rubinfeld-Ferrari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Great different idea for any brunch, lunch, or dinner. Adults loved it!! Kids - no so much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This was served as a main dish at my Easter Brunch. I compiled the filling the night before, stored it in the fridge overnight, then assembled it right after church and it was ready in about an hour. I felt it needed some color, because it was pretty monochromatic. So, I added some italian herb seasoning mix. It was very good, and filling. However, it was a bit soggy on the bottom. I'll probably pre-bake the bottom crust next time and skip the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
My husband isn't a big breaskfast fan (poor guy) but he said this was perfect. I love breakfast and I agree. I'll try it again with just one crust to save the calories. I worried a little because there is no spice in this dish but it was perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I loved this recipe. I halved the recipe and used a springform pan and it looked beautiful and tasted wonderful. I also left off the top crust as someone else suggested and it turned out great. It will be on my list for favorite Easter recips. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States