Easter Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. It was a bit salty, but I think it was from the meats and cheeses. I only make this once a year and I'm glad I tried this recipe this time.By the way, I halved the recipe, but that was the only change I made. It was very easy to put together and tasty too! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
My mother got a similar recipe from her mother, and my sister and I got it from our mom. My two nephews and four daughters also make this every easter - even though some of them are doing it in dorm kitchens. I add 6 or 7 hard cooked eggs chopped fine (with a potato masher) and use 1/2 lb pepperoni and 1/2 lb hard salami and 1 lb whole milk mozzerella in 1/4 in dice to 2 raw eggs and 2 lbs ricotta. Salting it to taste before cooking goes a long way to making it flavorful. As another person said, the pepperoni gives it a pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexi50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Excellent! I did add 1/4 cup of peperoni for a little kick, and great tasting! I have always found this type of pie too salty, but this one is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
just like my mothers now all we need is a good cookie dough crust and it will be even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. Both my husband and I found it to be salty but not bad tasting. We also didn't find the mix of meats to be anything special. If I do anything like this again, I might use just ham. Or find a good egg bake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
A secretary of mine many years ago gave me a similiar recipe and have trying to find it again since. This is close. I also added a quarter pound of suprasada cubed and made it qa single pie in a springform pan. While it is massive it is the bomb!!! Try it and you'll be glad you did. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Wow, this is delicious! I knew my boys would like this because they love meat- any kind! I lightened it a bit by using light ricotta and replaced turkey pepperoni for the salami. My husband couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
my grandma revised this pie recipe into a bread and oh is it good substitute the pie crusts with a basic italian bread dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was easy and delious big hit at dineer. Will make all year long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I did not like this at all, I took the advise of other users and used bacon. I just thought that it was blah. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States