Easter Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
A great family recipe that has been passed down to the 5th generation of our family. It is made usually on Good Friday (so their is no temptation to eat all the delicious cold cuts before they get into the pie). We have it on Saturday for Brunch (our family tradition) and the leftovers are served along side Easter Dinner on Sunday. If you prefer a meater and denser meat pie add extra meat and omit a few eggs. WE use garlic powder & parsley and add more meat; 1/4 lb. sopressatta, 1/4 lb ham capicola, 1/4 pepperoni. We also use 3/4 eggs. Either way it's a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEOTONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Island Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
My family makes this pie every Easter but we lessen the amount of meat & add Basket Cheese, cubed. You can get it in an Italian market. It adds a firmness to the pie. Also making a crust (top & bottom) of flour, salt, oil & water. it. Hope you like it. PS it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
A great new dish in our house! (Especially, considering we live on a farm with 30 hens.) It was a new twist with familiar ingredients. I followed to the letter including the top crust. It tastes excellent with or without the extra crust. I used the Basic Flaky Pie Crust from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Wow, my family has been making this for generations, but I never met anyone else who knew about it. The principle is simple three meats and three cheeses.If your low on funds use bacon pepperoni and ham - always boiled ham never glazed of any kind. If you can afford it used proscuitto, capacola and caprise...we always make it in aloaf, like a calzone a stuffed bread and we add parsley, like a cup of fresh not a teaspoon of dry. Its good Friday and I am off to the market for ingredients. Happy cooking,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
To cut the salty of prosciutto boil it first, I use Tuma cheese intead of ricotta. Brick cheese too. No mozzarella. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This recipe is delicious! The only changes I made was I added pepperoni instead of ham and I only used a bottom crust. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is a very authentic recipe. For those that say it's missing something- the only thing it's missing from my Italian Grandma's recipe is sliced hard boiled eggs. Otherwise, it's the same ingredients that are called for to make an Easter Pie(or what we've always called Pastiche) Thanks for sharing this recipe- it's a wonderful Easter tradition that brings back great memories of family on Easter Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was a huge success! I did add a number of chopped up vegetables (broccoli, celery, bell peppers, mushrooms) to give it more substance and made one with no meat as well for my vegetarian friends. I also sauted the meat and veggies before mixing it up. Everyone was begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I"m rating on the ingredients only - I've checked all my usual recipes site and could not find any recipes for Pizzagaina so I tried looking for Italian Easter Pie and I finally found what I was looking for in this Easter Meat Pie. I agree with another individual, by adding onions, garlic or even mushrooms or peppers you no longer have Pizzagaina or aka Italian Easter Pie you have your own recipe for something else. Not that that's a bad thing at all. I also like to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States