Easter Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I was looking for something to do with left over ham and found this delicious recipe. It was a hit sans salami & prosciutto - imagine adding those would only make it better! This was my first attempt at making a meat pie and this recipe seems like a solid foundation for endless variations. Thanks Pamster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This comes very close to the pizzagena of my memories!I did leave off the top crust, as that is the way we always had it. Yes, it IS salty, but what better excuse to enjoy an icy cold glass of Prosecco? Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Pretty good. I used pizza dough since I didn't have pie crust. My family didn't care for it, I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I have been researching Italian Easter Meat Pie since I saw it being made by the Cake Boss and his family! It looked soooo goood! I have read many recipes and learned how many different versions there are. I used this one as a basis. I halfed the recipe for 2 with lots of leftovers! I used a bottom crust only and that was a pizza dough placed in my Pampered Chef stone deep dish pie pan, prebaked for 5 minutes. I used 15 oz of riccotta, 3 eggs, 1/2 lb. cappacola, 1/4 lb. hard salami, a big handful of pepperoni, chopped, 4 hard cooked eggs, chopped, 1 cup mozzarela cheese, 1/4 lb. provalone and a good shake or 2 of parmesan cheese, garlic powder and Italian seasoning. This was so good and it will become an Easter weekend tradition for us, even though i am Irish!! I served this with a Cesar Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I've been looking for a simple recipe to make this for years. I used 2 different kinds of salami, Genoa and soppresatta. Next time I might add some provolone and reduce the mozzarella. Also, I bought sliced salami and prosciutto. Next time, I might have the deli slice it a bit thicker for me. Has anyone used an egg wash on the top crust?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I made it for Easter and it was incredible. The recipe was easy to follow. My family really enjoyed it and my Uncle Joe said it was the best he has ever had. What a great compliment.... This is a keeper and it something that will be made during the year as a treat... Life is to short to only have it once a year..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This turned out great. I had to halve the recipe I did not realize it was for 2 pies. The texture, look and oh man the taste were great. Next time I may add some spinach or broccoli or maybe cauliflower to make it into a meal in one dish thing. I was surprised that it was so tasty with out any spices. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is the authentic Italian PizzaGaina that I remember from my Sicilian Grandmother with one small exception... Hers was made with pizza dough instead of pie crust and was baked in a springform pan. Oherwise, the taste of the filling is an exact duplication of her old-world recipe! PizzaGaina is made for Easter in southern Italy. This dish takes on different forms and names depending on where you’re from. It’s also known as Pizza Rustica and Italian Meat Pie. This is an integral part of an Italian Easter tradition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I am so glad I found this recipe, it is just like the pie I remember my Grandma making. It was always served room temperature. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very nice recipe. My family calls this Pizza Rustica and if you go to the Italian bakery or deli, that is what it is called there too. For those who said this was rich & salty, it is due to the fact of all of the cured meats and cheeses. So a small piece will do. Use low salt ham if possible. I also use another cured meat which is called sopressata, and a small amount of provalone cheese diced small. The pie usually has a mix of 7 meats and cheeses, just like Christmas Eve's Feast of the Seven Fishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States