Easter Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very nice recipe. My family calls this Pizza Rustica and if you go to the Italian bakery or deli, that is what it is called there too. For those who said this was rich & salty, it is due to the fact of all of the cured meats and cheeses. So a small piece will do. Use low salt ham if possible. I also use another cured meat which is called sopressata, and a small amount of provalone cheese diced small. The pie usually has a mix of 7 meats and cheeses, just like Christmas Eve's Feast of the Seven Fishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Very tasty. Good for the meat lovers in your family. A bit on the salty side. It is definitely a rich dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvthedalilama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was good, but I wasn't crazy about the salami. The texture and saltiness didn't favor the overall recipe. It's important to note that it makes two pies, which is a LOT of food. If you have a smaller family, you may want to consider either halving the recipe, or perhaps try freezing one to cook at a later date. No idea if it freezes well, but two full pies is too much for the average family of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe. Loved the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It's really called Pizza Rustica. My mother called it Pizza Jane I make it a lot, not just at Easter you can add dry sausage (sopressata) and pepperoni you will not believe the wonderful flavors when you taste this pie. it tastes great warm or cold I am Italian but you don't have to be Italian to love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
A great family recipe that has been passed down to the 5th generation of our family. It is made usually on Good Friday (so their is no temptation to eat all the delicious cold cuts before they get into the pie). We have it on Saturday for Brunch (our family tradition) and the leftovers are served along side Easter Dinner on Sunday. If you prefer a meater and denser meat pie add extra meat and omit a few eggs. WE use garlic powder & parsley and add more meat; 1/4 lb. sopressatta, 1/4 lb ham capicola, 1/4 pepperoni. We also use 3/4 eggs. Either way it's a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEOTONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Island Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
My family makes this pie every Easter but we lessen the amount of meat & add Basket Cheese, cubed. You can get it in an Italian market. It adds a firmness to the pie. Also making a crust (top & bottom) of flour, salt, oil & water. it. Hope you like it. PS it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
A great new dish in our house! (Especially, considering we live on a farm with 30 hens.) It was a new twist with familiar ingredients. I followed to the letter including the top crust. It tastes excellent with or without the extra crust. I used the Basic Flaky Pie Crust from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Wow, my family has been making this for generations, but I never met anyone else who knew about it. The principle is simple three meats and three cheeses.If your low on funds use bacon pepperoni and ham - always boiled ham never glazed of any kind. If you can afford it used proscuitto, capacola and caprise...we always make it in aloaf, like a calzone a stuffed bread and we add parsley, like a cup of fresh not a teaspoon of dry. Its good Friday and I am off to the market for ingredients. Happy cooking,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States