Easter Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I've been looking for a simple recipe to make this for years. I used 2 different kinds of salami, Genoa and soppresatta. Next time I might add some provolone and reduce the mozzarella. Also, I bought sliced salami and prosciutto. Next time, I might have the deli slice it a bit thicker for me. Has anyone used an egg wash on the top crust?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I made it for Easter and it was incredible. The recipe was easy to follow. My family really enjoyed it and my Uncle Joe said it was the best he has ever had. What a great compliment.... This is a keeper and it something that will be made during the year as a treat... Life is to short to only have it once a year..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This turned out great. I had to halve the recipe I did not realize it was for 2 pies. The texture, look and oh man the taste were great. Next time I may add some spinach or broccoli or maybe cauliflower to make it into a meal in one dish thing. I was surprised that it was so tasty with out any spices. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is the authentic Italian PizzaGaina that I remember from my Sicilian Grandmother with one small exception... Hers was made with pizza dough instead of pie crust and was baked in a springform pan. Oherwise, the taste of the filling is an exact duplication of her old-world recipe! PizzaGaina is made for Easter in southern Italy. This dish takes on different forms and names depending on where you’re from. It’s also known as Pizza Rustica and Italian Meat Pie. This is an integral part of an Italian Easter tradition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I am so glad I found this recipe, it is just like the pie I remember my Grandma making. It was always served room temperature. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very nice recipe. My family calls this Pizza Rustica and if you go to the Italian bakery or deli, that is what it is called there too. For those who said this was rich & salty, it is due to the fact of all of the cured meats and cheeses. So a small piece will do. Use low salt ham if possible. I also use another cured meat which is called sopressata, and a small amount of provalone cheese diced small. The pie usually has a mix of 7 meats and cheeses, just like Christmas Eve's Feast of the Seven Fishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Very tasty. Good for the meat lovers in your family. A bit on the salty side. It is definitely a rich dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvthedalilama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was good, but I wasn't crazy about the salami. The texture and saltiness didn't favor the overall recipe. It's important to note that it makes two pies, which is a LOT of food. If you have a smaller family, you may want to consider either halving the recipe, or perhaps try freezing one to cook at a later date. No idea if it freezes well, but two full pies is too much for the average family of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe. Loved the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It's really called Pizza Rustica. My mother called it Pizza Jane I make it a lot, not just at Easter you can add dry sausage (sopressata) and pepperoni you will not believe the wonderful flavors when you taste this pie. it tastes great warm or cold I am Italian but you don't have to be Italian to love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States