Easter Leftovers Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is the first recipe I have printed to use again. I used leftover turkey, leftover mashed potatoes, cream of celery soup and a can of corn. I thought it would not be good, but I feed 10 people and they ALL liked it. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
what an excellent use of leftover ham. I don't know if I would have come up with the same blend. I used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom and it was great--my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Very good reciepe and fast to prepare since I had leftover mashed potatoes. It really helped me clear out my fridge after the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Valle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was actually pretty good... I used leftover ham and mashed potatoes so I know I had too much for what the recipe called for. I did do what a few others suggested... I added broccoli, about 1/2 tsp of celery salt, 1/2 tsp of onion powder and I doubled the garlic and it tasted really good. The kids picked at it but they are picky eaters.. all the adults who ate it really enjoyed it w/ a good side salad.This is definatly a keeper for all those leftovers after Easter!! ***UPDATE*** I've made this a few times now and I have since added those fried french onions to the top.. the onions give it a great taste and the crunch is EXACTLY what this recipe needs! This is a favorite at my house now and I've made this even when I didn't have Easter leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
The only reason this is not a 5 star recipe is the writer's oops re: potatoes. If I had 6 kids, I would have used 12, but we have 2, so I used 4 large potatoes. I did not choose to mash them, for texture. I used PEAS. It kind of reminded me of a pot-pie. I also jazzed it up with some red pepper flakes and ground black peppercorns(Trader Joes sells a great peppercorn/grinder doohickey). Leave the ham chopped chunky for big flavor. YUM! It was easy to make and came out tasty! My husband quoted "good and Hardy". I cooked it 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This is not as good as I hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is okay, not great. A good way to use up extra ham. WAY too many potatoes... Even with extra garlic and an onion this came out kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very good recipe, with a lot more flavour than we expected. We were looking for something to do with our left over ham. Thanks to past reviews we used less potatoes (7 instead of 12), and added onion powder. Since a member of our family does not like broccoli we added frozen kernel corn, and it was delicious. Also, when I was making it, I accidentally put the grated cheese (we chose marble) into the mixture, so I sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top for the last 10 minutes. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This was awesome! The only change I made was that Idecided not to mash the potatoes and put them in the casserole cubed. I just liked the texture better than mashed. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Wonderful use for leftovers!! We loved this and we don't care for casseroles too much. INstead of making the potatoes from the recipe I just threw in some leftover mashed taters and stopped adding when i liked the consistency. Based on reviews i chopped up some frozen broccoli and threw it in there. Also since this is a recipe designed to use up leftovers i threw in some leftover mixed vegetables from the fridge.I also used cream of chicken soup. Delicous!! Will definately make everytime we have ham. My husband even asked me to wrap the leftovers from this dish for lunch the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States