Easter Grain Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Love this recipe, this was a family tradition every Easter. Pattie, i think you're talking about a different pie that is not a dessert pie, the pie you're thinking of is more like a quiche pie and it is also delicious, my family always made the Easter bread with the colored Easter egg in the middle or braided with the eggs in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
good flavor. I may try different grain next year..maybe tapioca?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Made for Easter Dessert along with many other traditional Italian Desserts, did not use a pie crust, just buttered baking pan & did not add candied fruit. I followed rest of recipe as written, this was very tasty, dense & moist. I will make again but I will add a bit more wheat berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I added a 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract to the recipe It came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
A big tradition in a Neapolitan house. Expensive if you can find it in the bakery. The first time I ever had Easter "wheat pie" I had no idea of how to make it or how to prepare the wheat berries, so guessing, I used shredded wheat! It tasted the same. Make sure you really cook those wheat berries if you use them. Hard berries ruined my next try!-I think I'll use my presser cooker to cook the wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
So glad to see this recipe which is very similar to my grandmother's who was from Naples, Italy. The only thing different that she used to add was chocolate chips. It was her own personal preference. Very nice recipe and tribute to our Italian heritage for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made this pie with a few changes. I used a frozen deep dish pie crust with no top, cooked pearl barley instead of wheat berries and added roasted pine nuts to the mix. I also cooked it a little longer than the recipe calls for. It turned out great! Even my italian mother-in-law loved it. Now I can bring the Easter Pie to family gatherings with confidence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I am also one who did not have a recipe for this dish I grew up with. Last Easter, I wanted to make it for my friends and I stumbled upon this recipe, which may even be better then my grandmother's. *shhh* The chewy whole wheatberries are a great touch. I also left out the candied fruit...after a lifetime of picking it out, I was not about to put it in my own pie! It was a big hit last year, and everyone is looking forward to it again at Easter brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Thank you for sharing this recipe. My Mom has a very intense, all day cooking version which is Out of this world, but I don't have all that time. This sounds very close to my Moms version. Mom will be 86 years old this summer, and She decided this year that she is just not up to making it. OH NO!!! This will be a huge surprise to her and my family...as we were all very disappointed that we weren't going to have Our "Pizza Grain Pie" this year. Thank you, Thank You, Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I was delighted to find this recipe, which my great Aunt used to make for the whole family every Easter. I made it without the candied fruit and it turned out wonderfully. Now everyone asks me about the grain pie each year. ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Easter Eggshell Cupcakes

Chick it out! Bake these cute little cakes inside your Easter eggshells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States