Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very good and easy to make. My wife and I went to extra mile and decorated the candies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamGoat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
My 6yr old grandaughter gave me a great idea for avoiding the huge mess dipping the eggs in chocolate was causing. After we formed the eggs using a plastic easter egg as a mold, we were going to put them into the freezer to freeze when my grandaughter (she obviously got her brains from MY side of the family) asked me why we didn't just put a toothpick in the top of each one before we freeze it. Now we had a wonderful handle frozen into the eggs to use for dipping them and once pulled out afterwards left only a small hole easily filled afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Found this recipe about 4 years ago and have been using it every year since. I have gotten many request now for these eggs. The base is great. I have made maple pecan eggs by adding maple extract and pecan pieces. With the base you can add many flavors. Trying white chocolate strawberry and cookies and cream this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
To the poster who is concerned about margarine and shortening... The shortening is used ONLY to assist the chocolate set up.. Since one has to keep them in the fridge, the chocolate can set up naturally and there is no need for the shortening. Butter can certaiinly be substituted for the margarine with no issue, but as there is one stick used to make SIXTY eggs...really isn't a critical issue if one has an overall healthy diet. After all, these are meant to be a treat, not a menu staple! I would suggest instead cutting back on the margarine or butter, it adds a smoothness, but depending on your peanut butter, can actually make them somewhat "greasy.".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
It says at the end of the recipe that after the chocolate hardens you can keep them in the fridge. You MUST keep them in the fridge, because they have cream cheese in them. It WILL spoil. Take them out of the fridge about an hour before eating for them to soften up. :) Can't wait to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Thank you for posting this, my step mother used to make a similar recipe which I had lost over the years. Added hint is to use a maraschino cherry in a third of it along with 1/3 in peanut butter and a 1/3 in coconut so you have three kinds of candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
really they were great, but only 4 stars bc the peanut butter half was rather too creamy and I ended up adding quite a bit of icing sugar to that half. Maybe it was just the type of peanut butter I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Although my eggs did not come out as pretty as those in the pictures.... they look BEAUTIFUL! I colored the batter so the insides were yellow, blue and violet. It really added some "wow". I read that the coconut batter was yummier so I just made that and not any of the pb one. I didn't have a con. sugar so I took 1 1/2 c. of sugar and 1 tbs. of cornstarch and put it into the blender. Worked like a charm! I also only made 20 eggs (but it came out to be 15 instead) that was okay though. All in all a great recipe thanks fun to make and cool to eat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I had trouble with the chocolate. Most of them turned out great, but two of them had light streaks in the chocolate when they dried over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Best Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

How to Dye Easter Eggs

See how to make beautiful brightly colored Easter eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States