Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I loved this recipe! Turned out great. I just did the coconut ones. Here are some tips: Because the coconut was very sweet, use baking chocolate instead of semi sweet. By putting the coconut mixture into the fridge for a while before shaping, it helped make them look more egg like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
The peanut butter one are superb but the coconut ones are too sweet. Maybe unsweetened coconut would have been better in this recipe. I used a slab of dark chocolate candy making chocolate instead od the chips and will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Two days before Easter I misplaced my recipe for chocolate covered eggs, and searched my "go to" site for a another recipe. Of course, as soon as I found Joan's recipe, I located mine, which was very similar, and I had a decision to make...The reviews were so glowing that I decided to use the "new-found" recipe, and am I glad I did! The consistency of the filling is much easier to work with than my recipe which called for LESS confectioners sugar. The balance of sweetness is perfect, and the filling less sticky to handle. Freezing the egg shapes with the toothpicks inserted, (suggested by one reviewer), made dipping them in the chocolate so much easier. Also, on the advice of another reviewer, I used Wilton (I chose dark chocolate candy discs with just a few bittersweet chocolate chips) instead of the chocolate chips and shortening written in the recipe. The eggs set up beautifully when discs were melted in a small crockpot which kept the temperature constant throughout the process. I agree with some others who needed more chocolate to coat the number of eggs this made. I used almost double the amount of chocolate to coat the eggs. Mine were formed about the size of a rounded teaspoon, which were a perfect size after adding the chocolate coating. This also makes them easier to dip than a larger egg. I have just a small amount of chocolate left over, which I will use to dip fresh strawberries tomorrow. Thank you so much for this terrific recipe, Joan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and the eggs turned out fantastic!! Just like my grandmothers. I mixed the batter by hand, which was much easier. I also made 1 1/2 times the amount and divided the batter into thirds, 1/3 left alone for buttercream, 1/3 peanut butter, 1/3 coconut. I found the easiest way to coat the eggs in chocolate was to skewer them with a fondue fork and dip them. Once on the wax paper it wasn't difficult to hide the skewer hole with melted chocolate. I will absolutely use this recipe every Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've been looking for a really good coconut candy recipe for ages. This is it. I used all coconut and rolled them into bite size balls, froze and then dipped into tempered milk chocolate (no shortning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made these for Easter, Children and grandchildren absolutely loved these!!! I am making them for Christmas in round form for Christmas ball and I will decorate them.The only difference I used butter instead of margarine.. I made the peanutbutter and also the coconut, all went really fast...THANKYOU for a great recipe!! Merry Christmas....IreneK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
These are unbelievably good. I never think of myself as a coconut lover but they were by far the best!!! I also made a batch with Nutella...not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
These were fantastic! The only thing I changed was, instead of making separate peanut butter and coconut eggs, I made half and half eggs. So I only ended up with 36, but they still turned out pretty delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very good and easy to make. My wife and I went to extra mile and decorated the candies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad351w

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
My 6yr old grandaughter gave me a great idea for avoiding the huge mess dipping the eggs in chocolate was causing. After we formed the eggs using a plastic easter egg as a mold, we were going to put them into the freezer to freeze when my grandaughter (she obviously got her brains from MY side of the family) asked me why we didn't just put a toothpick in the top of each one before we freeze it. Now we had a wonderful handle frozen into the eggs to use for dipping them and once pulled out afterwards left only a small hole easily filled afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Eggs

See how to make beautiful brightly colored Easter eggs.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States