Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Thank you for this recipe, I have been looking for it. We made these when I was young and I wanted to make for my kids. I tinted a portion (about 1/3)of the cream mix yellow for the yolks and created "real eggs" by rolling the yolk in the white mix and shaping eggs. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
After taking these to a church luncheon, I was inundated with compliments! I did double the butter this recipe called for which made the filling much smoother. I made vanilla, chocolate and butter pecan fillings. (For my butter pecan, I used Watkins Butter Pecan flavoring and about 1/2 cup of well chopped pecans for a third of the filling mixture.) All of the flavors were a big success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Kolbow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Great recipe!! I made these for Easter and they were a huge hit. I used 16 oz of natural peanut butter (because I love peanut butter) and they were very creamy. Thanks for this recipe, I'll use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are awesome! I followed the recipe exactly and the coconut eggs taste phenomenal! Next time, I am only going to make the coconut. I tempered my choclate, so I would get that crisp, dry chocolate shell that does not need to be refridgerated. I have made the coconut eggs several times and I even bring them to barbeques. Everyone is amazed how wwonderful and professional these taste. I HIGHLY recommend tempering your chocolate and using onlu milk chocolate for that real candy taste. I also recommend that your FREEZE the eggs before dipping them into chocolate. Dipping into chocolate can sometimes me tricky or difficult if you are new to it, you may find it to be messy, but it takes time, patience, and practice to get the hang of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Loved this. It was split who preferred coconut and who preferred peanut butter-- but these were a hit (they tasted better than Reese's according to some of my guests). Two things: 1) You need more chocolate than is recommended. I'd buy an extra bag and just melt as much is necessary when you get to the bottom (it also depends on how large you make them). 2) Dipping them in the chocolate is kind of difficult (without making a ridiculous mess). Something really easy is to use chopsticks or skewers as chopsticks. It makes it so you can cover the entire candy without having large holes of missing chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsforsteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This is a very good candy recipe. The filling(s) is so smooth. They just melt in your mouth. I will not make this WHOLE recipe again. It is A LOT! of candy. I made the pieces about the size of a lg walnut. I cut the recipe in half and had plenty. It is hard to decide which is better, the coconut or the p-nut butter filling. I used milk chocolate chips because I am not a fan of SS chocolate. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Wonderful ! When I was a kid we had "cooking class" in school and we made Easter Eggs. They were good ...people didn't have money to buy much of anything....They were made with mashed potatoes ! (FYI....1/4 c mashed potatoes, 1/2 Tablesp softened butter, 3/4 c coconut, 1-lb. confectioners sugar, 3/4 teaspoon vanilla.---the icing was baking chocolate with a dap of parafin wax, (that made the icing shiny) They were good , ???? , but nothing compared to these! Just thought that might be an interestin tidbit of info about "the Old Days of Baking". I'm 75 and this recipe is older than dirt! Happy Easter everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Instead of egg shapes, we simply rolled the dough into balls about 3/4" in diameter. The recipe then makes about 150 balls, requiring 50% more of the chocolate/shortening mix for dipping. But we liked the smaller, bite-size shape and gave them to friends for Easter. Wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aham
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I decided to give this recipe a "test run" before Easter and they turned out great. I tried both the coconut and the peanut butter. I didn't decorate them this time, just sprinkled the tops of the coconut eggs so they wouldn't get mixed in with the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is the second year in a row I've made these eggs. Last year, I ran out of the chocolate dipping sauce and there was a tremedous amount of chocolate left on the eggs and on the wax paper where I put them. This year, after melting the chocolate I used a shish kabob to pierce the egg, then I dipped only the bottom in the mixture and used a pastry brush to evenly distribute the coating and remove the excess. Once "unskewered" use the pastry brush to fill in the hole. The result were beautiful eggs and you'll have plenty of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Eggs

See how to make beautiful brightly colored Easter eggs.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States