Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
My kids and I made these for Easter. We used real butter, and milk chocolate chips. We gave some to our neighbors and dinner guests...both raved how good they were! We'll certainly make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made these for the family this Easter. A big hit! The kids love the peanut butter ones while hubby raved about the coconut ones -- so everyone was happy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
The filling was easy to whip up and tasted excellent! The coconut tasted like a mounds candy bar, so good. However, I had a little problem with the chocolate chips. They didn't melt so well. So I just melted them 2 cups at a time, and had much more success (after dumping two failed attempts). That was NOT my first time melting chocolate, I do it often. I have no idea what went wrong, but I figured it out. They were a little big, next time I will make them smaller, but they tasted wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
My family raved about these. My husband thought the coconut ones tasted like Mounds candy bars on steroids. My kids in peanut butter heaven over the others. I used a dough scoop that was approximately 2 TBS to get consistency in size, and this recipe made about a dozen of each. My family has asked that we make these every Easter from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I did not care for these. The choc chips hardened before I could dip the eggs making a big mess. I couldn't use the chocolate. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ivesdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
GREAT RECIPE- I used a sheet of Easter egg mould's and they turned out great I made white and milk chocolate to make 2 different kind of peanut butter eggs. I had 11 people for Good Friday and they loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These were delicious. A tip for dipping them in chocolate: skewer each egg with a plastic toothpick before coating them. Holding onto the toothpick, roll them around in the chocolate and allow to freeze. Once hardened, remove the toothpicks. Be sure not to use wooden toothpicks or they'll break when you try and take them out of the eggs. Next time I'll probably just make the peanut butter eggs, as everyone seemed to prefer them to the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dessert_fiend

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These are great! I did only rate it 4 stars because I did decide to add an addtional stick of butter (2 total) It made the batter MUCH better, not so sweet & more creamy. I divided into 3 parts, one for adding 1/4 cup cocoa powder, one with a bag of coconut & one with 1 small jar of jif. These are wonderful but do take some extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These are delicious! I thought they would be too sweet but they were just right. I did half the recipe and replaced the margarine for unsalted butter. The recipe just calls for shredded coconut, i used the unsweetened kind. The peanut butter ones were very good, but the coconut were my favorite, they tasted like bounty bars (even better) As for the chocolate, i used the melting chocolate wafers available in the bulk sections at the grocery store, they turn crispy hard in minutes. When dipping it can become quite the task; i found the pb ones to be the most difficult even though they were frozen. I placed the candy on a fork and with a spoon poured the melted chocolate over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Mom of  Two
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Everyone who tries these loves these. The peanut butter ones are better than a Reeses Egg! Never tried the coconut just don't like coconut. I made mine small about the size of of walnut, I used a teaspoon to help me make the egg shape. I will be making these every Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Eggs

See how to make beautiful brightly colored Easter eggs.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States