Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
these were a huge hit!! they went so fast. there are a lot of them though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
EXCELLENT! I cut the recipe in half and only made the coconut eggs as I had already made peanut butter ones prior to finding this recipe. After dipping the eggs in chocolate, I placed them on parchment paper to dry before putting them in paper baking cups. I used a bag of chocolate wafers I had for the coating. The coconut eggs were EXCELLENT and I can't wait to try the peanut butter ones. This recipe definitely makes it easy to have both. Thank you Joan Zaffary for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These are really excellent. I highly recommend toasting some whole almonds and wrapping the coconut around them before dipping into chocolate. Tastes like the candy bar, but WAY better. I used natural peanut butter and thought those had the perfect amount of peanut butter flavor. Regular PB probably would not have as strong of a flavor and it would be sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are awesome! I followed the recipe exactly and the coconut eggs taste phenomenal! Next time, I am only going to make the coconut. I tempered my choclate, so I would get that crisp, dry chocolate shell that does not need to be refridgerated. I have made the coconut eggs several times and I even bring them to barbeques. Everyone is amazed how wwonderful and professional these taste. I HIGHLY recommend tempering your chocolate and using onlu milk chocolate for that real candy taste. I also recommend that your FREEZE the eggs before dipping them into chocolate. Dipping into chocolate can sometimes me tricky or difficult if you are new to it, you may find it to be messy, but it takes time, patience, and practice to get the hang of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Loved this. It was split who preferred coconut and who preferred peanut butter-- but these were a hit (they tasted better than Reese's according to some of my guests). Two things: 1) You need more chocolate than is recommended. I'd buy an extra bag and just melt as much is necessary when you get to the bottom (it also depends on how large you make them). 2) Dipping them in the chocolate is kind of difficult (without making a ridiculous mess). Something really easy is to use chopsticks or skewers as chopsticks. It makes it so you can cover the entire candy without having large holes of missing chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsforsteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very good. Makes more than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
the end result is good. but dont think i would make again, not worth the work/ingredients. but people did like it! ( made for easter 2009)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I've died and gone to heaven. These are incredibly creamy and delicious. If it were on a scale of 10, I would give it 9 stars. I needed more chocolate to cover, about double. While probably not necessary, I also added 4 oz of peanut butter. Absolute heaven. I have made peanut butter cups for years, but never with cream cheese; I could not believe the difference it made. As for the coconut ones, both myself (only like coconut on a few things) and my husband and kids (all of whom love all things coconut) thought these were fantastic. For forming, just take a regular, oval cereal spoon, scoop some up in it and cup your hand over it to form little eggs. You'll get about 80-100 all total, depending on how much you nibble in the process :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saucymama
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Creamy and delicious. I could eat these year round. My husband commented that the peanut butter eggs are better than reese! My only critique is the name...simply because these are great for any holiday or sweet craving! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
These were really good! Next time I'll use less coconut cuz those ones were really dry. The peanut ones should be alot smalled too because they were a bit too rich. I will definately make these again, and probably not just during easter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Eggs

See how to make beautiful brightly colored Easter eggs.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States