Easter Egg Nests Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
great Easter treat and easy to make for a bake sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I tinted my coconut in a gallon size plastic baggie, placing 3 drops of food coloring directly onto the side of the plastic bag (omitting milk). If works better this way than dropping the food coloring directly onto the coconut. Then with a few quick shakes it was nicely tinted. I used white chocolate morsels since I couldn't find the confectioner's coating, which would have been okay if I hadn't added a 1/2 tsp vanilla extract for flavoring. This little bit of liquid made the chocolate seize up. I then had to add 1 tsp of canola oil to melt the chocolate back into the correct consistency. All in all the came out great, and I got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Coconut bird's nests have always been one of my most favorite Easter treats. I used real white chocolate instead of candy coating and even made a batch using milk chocolate for those who are not white chocolate fans. These are a coconut lovers dream! Note: If using real white chocolate, omit the 1/2 tsp. milk and be sure to use food coloring that is designed for chocolate. Otherwise, it will seize the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I make a version of this. 2 differences 1: use toasted coconut. 2: Chocolate almond bark. I am going to try milk chocolate chips next time. The toasted coconut makes a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
You can use the "chocolate" or "white chocolate" packaged bunnys that are in the stores this time of year for theese. I got a deal on some broken ones and I used them for dipping strawberrys in too. (-:B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I have made these three times in the past week. When I was little, my mother bought the Russell Stover edition of these. I kept looking for them this year, but now they are DARK BROWN and have NO egg candy in them. So I came across these and got SO SO excited. They taste similar to the original BUT BETTER! I am so excited about these, I plan to make them every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I knew these would be sweet, but it was much too sweet for my taste using confectioners sugar. Not sure if that what was meant by confectioners coating or not. Wished I had used sweetened condensed milk like a regular macaroon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Is there really such a thing as white confectioners coating? I asked my sister what it was, and she had never heard of it. She said what was meant was powdered sugar--so I bought that. Needless to say, the nests didn't turn out. When I got home from the store I saw the comment on what confectioners coating was and went back to the store--but that doesn't mean I actually FOUND any. Next time I try these I guess I'll give white chocolate chips a spin. The nests in the picture look quite yummy. I didn't know when to say "when" on the green food coloring so mine look more like real grass--only very watery. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My grandmother made these every year for Easter baskets when I was a kid. I'm so glad I found this recipe on AR. These are so cute and very easy to make. I use petite jelly beans for inside the "nest".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Can use rise crispy treat receipe instead and can use jelly beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States