Easter Egg Nests Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Confectioners coating is a product, a chocolate substitute made without cocoa butter. Makers can't sell it as chocolate because of the missing ingredient, so termed confectioners coating. It eliminates the need for tempering, making it easier to dip, or coat items, like the 'birds nest'. It is less expensive then real chocoalate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I made the nests with the usual rice-crispy square recpipe with added coconut and green coloring - much more appetising than a hunk of coconut and ohhh so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahiswright
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I loved these! They were adorable and earned me the name "Martha" at a party. I used white chocolate chips which worked perfectly and they were really easy to shape into nests. I filled them with mini pastel jelly beans before they cooled completely just so they'd "stick" in the nests better. These may turn into an annual tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My grandmother made these every year for Easter baskets when I was a kid. I'm so glad I found this recipe on AR. These are so cute and very easy to make. I use petite jelly beans for inside the "nest".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I think these are better for "cute" appeal than taste appeal. They're okay in taste, but their "cute" rating is high. I doubled the recipe and had to put the mixture back in the microwave for about 15 seconds part way through making them, to keep it soft enough to shape. Don't squish the mixture together or you'll lose the rough nest look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
My mother used this recipe for years.She used the coconut or chow mein noodles its a matter of personal preference. Also Merkins chocolate if available in your area melts wonderfully, and you can usually already find green, though you might try the food coloring for a lighter shade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Every year my SIL has Easter dinner at her house. She always hosts a huge Easter Egg Hunt for the kids. I told her about this recipe and we got together and made a bunch of these for the Baskets that we'll be hiding.They went together so easily....and of course we had to snitch a couple...they were delicious. Thanks for a wonderful idea, Carol. Russell Stover markets something similar looking, but they are very costly to buy for a large crowd. These were easy, delicious and inexpensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Easy to make and so cute! I used white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Too cute, but the kids didn't like the taste as much as I thought they would. Great for decoration. Might try again next year. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
really quick -chocolate bark was expensive - I think next time I would buy plain white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States