Easter Cheese - Hrudka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My family is Hungarian and has always made Easter cheese...I was never sure if it was just a family thing or something more. We don't have a recipe, just make it like everyone else did. Yay...now I know it is more than my family that loves Easter cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
The only difference between this and my family's recipe is that we use vanilla instead of cinnamon. A+. The name is a bit misleading to anyone not familiar with the dish, though--even though lots of people call it Easter Cheese, it's not meant to taste like the cheeses with which Americans are generally familiar. It's *supposed* to be on the bland side in order to complement the salty ham and the bite of the horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Don't lose site of the fact that this simple (and many might say bland) dish is the perfect vehicle for Chrin, more commonly known as horseradish beets. My grandmother served this for years as part of a traditional Easter meal, and my brothers and I soon found out it was best slathered with the horseradish mix. I intend to experiment a little with the recipe this year. I'll let you know how I make out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
sounds just like my grandmother's receipe, but she used vanilla instead of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is a staple at our table every Easter. We called it Yayashnik. It was served with ham, kielbasa, raisin babka (bread), hard boiled eggs and yes, the horseradish for those who liked it. This is part of the Eastern European (specifically Byzantine Orthodox) Easter tradition. Thank you for sharing this recipe. For those of you who didn't grow up with this tradition, another serving suggestion would be to use slices of this Hrudka on bread with slices of ham. It makes a great sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
taste EXACTLY like my step grandmother made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I made this to serve with the Paska bread. Was very disapointed in the flavor. Other than my son saying it looked like brains, it tasted like cinnamon egg custard. Needless to say we didn't have it with the bread. I will keep searching for a cheese flavored cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
What a surprise to find this recipe. My husband's mother from Hungary used to make a similar recipe every Easter. She used 2 quarts of milk to 12 eggs and then also added seedless white raisins. The rest of the recipe was the same. They used to just slice it and eat it with cold sausage or ham. My husband always just called it Easter cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Natural Easter Egg Dyes

See how to make natural egg dye using food products you probably have on hand!

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States