Easter Cheese - Hrudka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is a staple at our table every Easter. We called it Yayashnik. It was served with ham, kielbasa, raisin babka (bread), hard boiled eggs and yes, the horseradish for those who liked it. This is part of the Eastern European (specifically Byzantine Orthodox) Easter tradition. Thank you for sharing this recipe. For those of you who didn't grow up with this tradition, another serving suggestion would be to use slices of this Hrudka on bread with slices of ham. It makes a great sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
What a surprise to find this recipe. My husband's mother from Hungary used to make a similar recipe every Easter. She used 2 quarts of milk to 12 eggs and then also added seedless white raisins. The rest of the recipe was the same. They used to just slice it and eat it with cold sausage or ham. My husband always just called it Easter cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
The only difference between this and my family's recipe is that we use vanilla instead of cinnamon. A+. The name is a bit misleading to anyone not familiar with the dish, though--even though lots of people call it Easter Cheese, it's not meant to taste like the cheeses with which Americans are generally familiar. It's *supposed* to be on the bland side in order to complement the salty ham and the bite of the horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Don't lose site of the fact that this simple (and many might say bland) dish is the perfect vehicle for Chrin, more commonly known as horseradish beets. My grandmother served this for years as part of a traditional Easter meal, and my brothers and I soon found out it was best slathered with the horseradish mix. I intend to experiment a little with the recipe this year. I'll let you know how I make out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
sounds just like my grandmother's receipe, but she used vanilla instead of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I wanted to make this as a surprise to my Dad for Easter. This is something that was ALWAYS on the Easter table my whole life, and his. My grandmother passed away 15 years ago and it hasn't been made since. I knew my Dad had the recipe from my grandmother which was his grandmothers but I didn't want to ask him for it, I wanted it to be a surprise. I found this recipe, added golden rasins and it was perfect! He told me it tasted just like his grandmothers. (Who was a Hungarian immagrant.) Thank you so much for this recipe and helping me surprise my Dad. It will now be somthing I make every year for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
My family has made this my entire life, my dad used to make it, after he passed, my mom & I, and now I make it for my husband & I. I use 3 qts of milk, 1 1/2 doz eggs, salt & pepper. We never used sugar nor other seasonings. My dad was Slovak, this was his family recipe. I don't use a double boiler, we warm the milk on med heat till almost a boil, then add the beaten eggs and salt & pepper. Stirring constantly is a must. I have an old salt bag, pour the mixture into this after curding, then grab one corner and the top of bag, tie tightly, hang overnite..it would not be Easter without Hrudka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I made this to serve with the Paska bread. Was very disapointed in the flavor. Other than my son saying it looked like brains, it tasted like cinnamon egg custard. Needless to say we didn't have it with the bread. I will keep searching for a cheese flavored cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
taste EXACTLY like my step grandmother made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I was looking for the spelling of this egg custard, and found this. Our family always made this for Easter, and I have been doing it myself for the past 20 years. My mom's recipe was a dozen eggs and a quart of milk, nothing else. I also found that it is better to use a double boiler to lessen the possibility of burning it. I use a towel to form the cheese, and when cold, slice it and lather it with the horseradish and beet mixture. We called the beet and horse radish Huren (?) Was looking for the spelling of that as well. I'm 74 years old, and never had it with any sweetener or other spices. But it wouldn't be Easter for me without it. Christos Voskrese! Voistinu Voskrese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Easter Eggshell Cupcakes

Chick it out! Bake these cute little cakes inside your Easter eggshells.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States