Easter Cheese - Hrudka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I use the basic recipe for a pre-cooked breakfast. Instead of sugar and spices in this recipe, I add a bit of salt, and usually a teaspoon of other herbs or spices. My favorite is curry. I've also used, at different times, oregano, garlic, firebrick pepper (crushed black pepper and red pepper flakes that have been smoked), or sage. About a teaspoon of chili-garlic sauce is a good addition, too. Just cut a slice in the morning. Eat it plain, or between whole-grain bread rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
My Hungarian roots are so excited for this recipe. We always had this for Easter and after my grandma passed away, some traditions passed with her. I found this recipe last year, and my whole family was excited and nostalgic. Besides adding blonde raisins, my grandpa uses to put rum on it, like a fruitcake. I don't care for it, but a few members of the family do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Sedor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Another Hungarian recipe is never thought I'd see. So good, it can be a little sweet but not overly. The raisins are a nice touch, golden of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Most of my family members make it using only eggs, milk and salt no sugar, cinnamon or other ingredients. When it is served salt to your taste. I like mine slightly sweet so when I make it I had some sugar. I also make it during the year not just at Easter. Very easy to cut in half or double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIke
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Nearly spot on, Occasionally I toss in a hand full of craisens and enjoy my rebel hrudka! MIke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Was glad to find a recipe for this. A Slovak Easter is not complete without it. The only difference in the way my family made it, no sugar or cinnamon. We just use salt and cracked pepper, savory instead of sweet. I hang mine on the cabinet door knobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
My family has made this my entire life, my dad used to make it, after he passed, my mom & I, and now I make it for my husband & I. I use 3 qts of milk, 1 1/2 doz eggs, salt & pepper. We never used sugar nor other seasonings. My dad was Slovak, this was his family recipe. I don't use a double boiler, we warm the milk on med heat till almost a boil, then add the beaten eggs and salt & pepper. Stirring constantly is a must. I have an old salt bag, pour the mixture into this after curding, then grab one corner and the top of bag, tie tightly, hang overnite..it would not be Easter without Hrudka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I have had this for 70 years, it wouldn,t be Easter without it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I was looking for the spelling of this egg custard, and found this. Our family always made this for Easter, and I have been doing it myself for the past 20 years. My mom's recipe was a dozen eggs and a quart of milk, nothing else. I also found that it is better to use a double boiler to lessen the possibility of burning it. I use a towel to form the cheese, and when cold, slice it and lather it with the horseradish and beet mixture. We called the beet and horse radish Huren (?) Was looking for the spelling of that as well. I'm 74 years old, and never had it with any sweetener or other spices. But it wouldn't be Easter for me without it. Christos Voskrese! Voistinu Voskrese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
At 73 I still make this at Easter except the next day we coat with butter and bake it in oven til brown. Also I make a smaller one with egg substitute not as dense but healthier, not the same Wonderful memories of family easters of old.Wouldn't be Easter without, beet horseradish ham kolbassi and Hrudka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Natural Easter Egg Dyes

See how to make natural egg dye using food products you probably have on hand!

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States