Easter Buttermilk Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This is my new go-to recipe! I tried it exactly as written and it came out perfect! The rolls tasted good and were soft and slightly chewy. I made my own icing because I didn't want an open can of frosting sitting around: stir together 1/2 cup confectioner's sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla, 1/2 Tbsp milk and 1/2 Tbsp melted butter. This makes just enough to make crosses on all 18 buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is a fabulous recipe. . . . It is relatively simple and very delicious. I have never made hot crossed buns before but volunteered to make some for our church, this year. This recipe has truly 'saved the day' !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Made this in practice for next Easter Sunday. Everything is better with buttermilk. Easy recipe, and they came out soft, fluffy and tastey. I don't know what they are tradionally supposed to taste like, so I doubled the sugar based on other comments. Still baked in 9x13 pan, but they separated easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ritzyness
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This recipe is simple but takes a while to prepare as the dough has to rise. I used the 9x13 pan as indicated but found the 18 portions ended up smaller than I expected as there wasn't that much room to expand. I also used raisins and dried cranberries for mole flavor. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
No raisins. or currants. Deliciously sodt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was a wonderful recipe. I followed the ingredients and method almost exactly. I didn't let it rise as long as suggested. I let it rise 30 minutes to start and then about 15 minutes the second time. The buns were light but just enough body for me to really enjoy. I made me own frosting with icing sugar, vanilla and milk. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used currants instead of raisins and made my own icing with powdered sugar, but those were the only changes I made. The buns turned out great but not as rich as I expected, probably because of the lack of eggs. I like lightly sweet much better than overly sweet but the currants were not enough to make me feel I was eating a sweet pastry instead of savory. I may up the sugar just a bit next time. I will probably also bake them on a baking sheet instead of a 9x13 pan since they smashed together as they baked and look like pull-apart rolls instead of the round hot-cross buns I remember from when I was a kid. Still, this is a good basic recipe and great for when I need to bake for a family member with an egg allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
These were yummy! I made a gluten free version with cranberries and cherries instead of raisins, and made my own icing. Will definitely save this recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
pretty good. made these in the bread machine, but basically followed the recipe. used butter instead of margerine; tried to chop raisins in 1/4 c. flour, but they stubbornly refused to be ground up. baked them in 2 9-inch sq. pans, 9 to a pan, brushed with egg wash for shine. they were almost too light and airy - i think i would have preferred a somewhat more dense and chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
these were excellent! didnt have buttermilk so added 1tblspn cider vinegar to sweet milk instead, and i sprinkled the sugar with the yeast, allowing it to proof for 10minutes till creamy looking. made a sweet dough for the crosses after they were baked. for those like me who have egg allergies, this is the recipe for you! they rose beautifully and were light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States