Easter Buttermilk Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used currants instead of raisins and made my own icing with powdered sugar, but those were the only changes I made. The buns turned out great but not as rich as I expected, probably because of the lack of eggs. I like lightly sweet much better than overly sweet but the currants were not enough to make me feel I was eating a sweet pastry instead of savory. I may up the sugar just a bit next time. I will probably also bake them on a baking sheet instead of a 9x13 pan since they smashed together as they baked and look like pull-apart rolls instead of the round hot-cross buns I remember from when I was a kid. Still, this is a good basic recipe and great for when I need to bake for a family member with an egg allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
These were yummy! I made a gluten free version with cranberries and cherries instead of raisins, and made my own icing. Will definitely save this recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
pretty good. made these in the bread machine, but basically followed the recipe. used butter instead of margerine; tried to chop raisins in 1/4 c. flour, but they stubbornly refused to be ground up. baked them in 2 9-inch sq. pans, 9 to a pan, brushed with egg wash for shine. they were almost too light and airy - i think i would have preferred a somewhat more dense and chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
these were excellent! didnt have buttermilk so added 1tblspn cider vinegar to sweet milk instead, and i sprinkled the sugar with the yeast, allowing it to proof for 10minutes till creamy looking. made a sweet dough for the crosses after they were baked. for those like me who have egg allergies, this is the recipe for you! they rose beautifully and were light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Day
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was my first time making hot cross buns, or any yeast dough. They came out great! Soft and moist, and the icing added just the right amount of sweetness. I left the raisins out because my family doesn't care for them. I also made the recipe the night before, and let it rest in the refrigerator after letting it rise both times. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Every year on Good Friday we make hot cross buns. I had some buttermilk on hand, so I thought I would give this recipe a whirl. So glad I did! We will absolutely be using this next year. I made some slight alterations. For the flour, I used a 50/50 combination of whole wheat flour and bread flour. I mixed the wet and dry ingredients separately (after proofing the yeast and this made a very easy, workable dough! Also made small slits on the top before baking, so they had lovely cross ridges in the top. I topped them with royal icing, so the crosses were predominant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fitmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
One of the reviews stated the buns were more like a bread mixture, and I would have to agree with them. They rose beautifully, but after baking them, they were not high at all. I probably needed to make the temperature higher and not as stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
These were good but they tasted more like dinner rolls than hot cross buns. I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A. H. Miller
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Excellent results just as written, although I used currants instead of raisins. This was a boost to my yeast-bread baking confidence! I did make my own frosting with powedered sugar, milk and few drops of almond extract. Always a sentimental favorite at Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. H. Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Our family has an egg allergy so this is a great alternative to the traditional recipe since it does not require any eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States