Easter Bread Ring Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by curlgirl2
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made this for Easter and it was a big hit! I made a couple changes after reading other reviews - omitted candied fruit (family doesn't like it) and substituted raisins and used Anise extract instead of the seed. I also needed to add a few more TBS of milk to make the right consistency glaze. I baked with white eggs to prevent dye transfer onto the bread, and then when the bread was done I removed the white eggs and replaced them with dyed because it really makes this bread POP! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I actually came to All Recipes today looking for this recipe. An old friend used to make this for us when my kids were small and I haven't had it in years. After trying this, it's exactly what I was looking for! I did use less salt ( I usually do no matter the recipe). I had golden raisins and dates and sliced almonds on hand so I used those instead running to the store for the candied fruit. It turned out wonderful. I did have anise seed and I used it, and I was pleased with the taste. I did cheat and used my Kitchen Aid mixer instead of doing the work by hand. I started with the batter paddle and then switched to the dough hook for the ten minute knead. Do be careful about not adding too much flour as I feel that this is just on the border of being too dry. If you add a touch too much flour I suspect it will make a difference. Even so I was very pleased with the consistency and the taste, oh and the look of it too. I'd have taken a picture but we started tasting it and had trouble stopping so there is isn't much left, it was supposed to be for Easter. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I'm excited to try this again next Easter. My bread turned out a little dry and the icing was too watery, but I think I just need to practice. Making the dough and twisting it into a ring was pretty easy, and inserting the eggs in the ring also went well. My dad was very impressed, since his family always bought their Easter Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
My father used to make this EVERY year.When he passed away,he took that recipe with him.For thirteen years I have tried to find this bread and here it is! Five stars for bringing back my childhood memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This turned out great! It is a bit of work, but well worth it. This was my first time making a bread ring and it looked absolutely gorgeous. I could not find candied fruit anywhere, so I used a mix of candied pineapple, candied cherries and raisins. It worked out really well, and it was delicious. I will make this every Easter from now on. Thanks for the recipe(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
bread was good, however, I left out the dried fruit, anise and almonds, since it's not a ruitcake. And, it did not double in size at all and I followed directions step by step. But everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I'll give this three b/c it did turn out as a bread. However, I can't give it more than that b/c I didn't follow the recipe. I didn't add the dried fruit or anise seed or colored eggs; instead I added anise extract and it still wasn't enough for my tastes. I was hoping this would be like my Sicilian grandma's Pigna but it didn't come close. If you're not Italian and not used to authentic Pigna then this may satisfy your needs but it just didn't do it for me. I crumbled it up and gave it to the birds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MammaSteph
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was my first attempt at an Easter ring & I was thrilled with the result! I brought this to an Easter dinner & everyone raved about how good it was. The kids loved dyeing the eggs. I'm going to make this a new Easter tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MammaSteph

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anita Louise McKennon-Paxton
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Followed recipe as written--love it! I use kosher salt, and didn't notice a salty taste. Everybody raved about this last Easter. It tastes sweet--more like a cake bread. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Louise McKennon-Paxton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Easy. The children and the adults love this bread at easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States