Easter Basket Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
the cake looks so good to eat and have for easter thanks for the pic of the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Such a cute idea. I tried it two ways: once with the candies, and once with the forked basket weave look. Both were adorbs. If you're frosting challenged, the candy makes it all seem tidy and pretty, and if your cake is a little lopsided, well, that's just very basket-like, isn't it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrl
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Loved it and so did my whole family! A huge hit. I used Hershey's perfectly chocolate cake recipe with homemade vanilla buttercream and was great. Thank you so much for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by millyot
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I love how this cake turned out!! I used two hard plastic replacement straws along with the handle from a gift bag to assemble the handle and it is very sturdy. Applying the big bow added a lot and helped to detract from my less-than-perfect basket piping. I thought the basket weave technique was the hardest part about this project. Place a jelly bean with some icing for stabilization behind each Peep to keep them standing upright. I used a recipe for a lemon cake with raspberry jam filling and a lemon meringue icing to make the inside extra appetizing. This cake is sure to add something special for young and old at your Easter meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Beautiful, delicious, festive cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Easy to do and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eglasgow
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Well this cake looked so good, that even when part of it collapsed (due to one of the layers needing another minute or two in the oven,) I still received a lot of compliments. I used a chocolate cake, which I covered in pink-dyed frosting. Then, I used a basket weaving technique for the frosting using pink and purple colors for the sides. (If you have never used this technique, it is much simpler than it looks. I had found a tutorial by Wilton on Youtube.) I used different colors of marshmallow chicks and spiced jelly bean eggs for the top decorations. I tried to spread green-dyed frosting into the center of the cake basket, but then realized it would be easier to pipe it, since the cake sides were breaking apart as I was spreading it. (I did not use the coconut, because i don't like it.) Overall, this looked fantastic, despite the collapsed section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Thanks for all the cool pictures to inspire me to make my own basket cake! Did a 2 layer choc. cake frosted with a basketweave tip. Used a piece of clear,flexable tubing (bought for cheap at Lowes) covered in ribbon for the handle. Secured with long bamboo shish kabob sticks. My Easter guests thought it was a real basket. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was so fun and easy to make. I wasn't sure exactly how I wanted to decorate it so I didn't put too much on the cake and it turned out so nice. Love this recipe and what an excellent idea, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States