Easter Basket Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
What a beautiful cake! We used crepe paper instead of ribbons, and wound 2 different colors around the foil handle, and then tied a big bow on top. The round part of the cake that was cut out was frosted, decorated and given to the one person at the table who hated coconut. I can't wait to make this next year when my son is old enough to help me decorate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Wow! This was so easy, and it turned out to be so cute!! For the handle, I wanted to use several red licorice ropes, but I accidentally picked up the wrong kind at the store. I was in a bit of a crunch, time wise, so this idea will have to wait until next year. Instead, I laid out a piece of rose-colored saran wrap, laid a piece of tin foil, the same size, on top of it, then rolled the two together. The handle was pretty and strong; the ends went right down into the sides of the cake. The coconut was a lot less messy than I thought it would be to color, and it looked great in and around the cake! I filled the middle of the "basket" with some of the coconut grass and then put in some chocolates and jelly beans. Thanks for a terrific idea that will likely be a new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made an Easter basket cake many years ago and had forgotten about it. This recipe was a good reminder. I made this cake with an Almond Bundt cake and Whipped Cream-Cream Cheese frosting, both from this site. I baked it in a bundt pan. When cooled, I frosted and filled the whole with green tinted coconut and placed a variety of Easter candy in the middle. Instead of making a handle out of foil which does not bend nicely, I used floral wrapped wire sticks and curved them gently around a round object. Then I wrapped with bright colored ribbons and made two bows of matching, but different ribbons. Everyone thought I really fussed with the cake when in actually, it was very easy. It looked very festive with my Easter meal. I will definitely do this again. Picture to be posted soon. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi P.
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Great idea and fun to make. I made a coconut cake and used a basket weave for the decorations. My 4 and 2 year old helped make the molded chocolates we used to decorate the middle. Several people at our Easter party didn't think if was a cake at first. I used card stock folded and glued for the handle and then just attached a bow. I cut a bamboo skewer in half and used them to help hold the handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This is the cutest and easiest Easter cake to make. Use your imagination and you can do all sorts of things with it! Thank you so much. My whole family will be in awe on Sunday when they dig into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Huge hit at Easter. Everyone loved it! And they were so amazed I did it myself. It was great! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I have made this and it is so easy and so cute! Rather than go through the fuss of making a handle, I go to the dollar store and buy a cheap easter basket. I use wire cutters to cut the handle off and use it in the cake! Sooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I made this and it turned out great and i'm not usually a one to bake and be patient with a project like this. It was pretty easy. I have a tip though when cutting out the center use the smallest bowl or big tea cup push it down in the middle pull it out it is easier then trying to make it even with a knife. It is also a good small dessert for later. Don't go to heavy with the coconut. Overall it was fun and good tasting. Try it you will love it. GOOD LUCK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fourpiesmama
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
very cute and easy idea. I used some light cardboard to form the handle and wrapped with grosgrain ribbon. You'll want to have about 2 cans of icing to get enough coverage and not be short. Very fun for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alisha
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
It turned out too cute. I will post a picture of it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States