Easter Basket Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
There really couldn't be a cuter Easter cake than this!! It is now an Easter tradition for me to make it for my family. The kids LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
great attraction... tASTED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Peek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi P.
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Great idea and fun to make. I made a coconut cake and used a basket weave for the decorations. My 4 and 2 year old helped make the molded chocolates we used to decorate the middle. Several people at our Easter party didn't think if was a cake at first. I used card stock folded and glued for the handle and then just attached a bow. I cut a bamboo skewer in half and used them to help hold the handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Great! I made this for the kids. Because there were so many I baked a white cake recipe doubled and put into 9" Pans. Visited the local candy and cake store for lemon filling and food color spray. I sprayed the coconut green. Sprayed the iced cake to look like an easter basket (yellow & green). Picked up chicken and duck suckers to stick in the top of the cake, added chocolate marshmellow eggs & Easter colored M&Ms. No handle. Thought what I had was enough. Will add a picture as soon as I download it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choirmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA
Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Finally an Easter cake idea that doesn't require cutting of small pieces of cake or a special mold. I will make this simple cake this easter! Thanks for a simple, yet creative, idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This was a very simple and fun cake. I made it for a church potluck around Easter and everyone just loved how cute it looked. With this cake you can be very creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Wow! This was so easy, and it turned out to be so cute!! For the handle, I wanted to use several red licorice ropes, but I accidentally picked up the wrong kind at the store. I was in a bit of a crunch, time wise, so this idea will have to wait until next year. Instead, I laid out a piece of rose-colored saran wrap, laid a piece of tin foil, the same size, on top of it, then rolled the two together. The handle was pretty and strong; the ends went right down into the sides of the cake. The coconut was a lot less messy than I thought it would be to color, and it looked great in and around the cake! I filled the middle of the "basket" with some of the coconut grass and then put in some chocolates and jelly beans. Thanks for a terrific idea that will likely be a new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This is the cutest and easiest Easter cake to make. Use your imagination and you can do all sorts of things with it! Thank you so much. My whole family will be in awe on Sunday when they dig into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
What a beautiful cake! We used crepe paper instead of ribbons, and wound 2 different colors around the foil handle, and then tied a big bow on top. The round part of the cake that was cut out was frosted, decorated and given to the one person at the table who hated coconut. I can't wait to make this next year when my son is old enough to help me decorate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States