Easter Basket Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Thanks for all the cool pictures to inspire me to make my own basket cake! Did a 2 layer choc. cake frosted with a basketweave tip. Used a piece of clear,flexable tubing (bought for cheap at Lowes) covered in ribbon for the handle. Secured with long bamboo shish kabob sticks. My Easter guests thought it was a real basket. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was so fun and easy to make. I wasn't sure exactly how I wanted to decorate it so I didn't put too much on the cake and it turned out so nice. Love this recipe and what an excellent idea, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
SUPER easy to do! I used my own combination of candies. But definitely used the peeps. That was a great idea/suggestion! My nephew, who is 3 years old, was completely enamored by the Easter Basket cake and loved being able to have a little taste (a piece of candy out of the basket) before having to wait literally hours to be able to cut it. :) My bf, who is VERY handy, helped me fashion a handle out of thin jelly strips that I had found in fruity flavors, therefore in pretty colors. I braided it and he weaved some floral wire loosely through it to give it strength and form...and then just un-weaved it when my nephew just HAD to eat the handle! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Huge hit at Easter. Everyone loved it! And they were so amazed I did it myself. It was great! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My 5yr old daughter and I just decorated this cake, Easter Morning. She had soooo much fun doing it! Turned out great! Warining: If you let the kiddos imagination run wild you might not be able to eat it for all the sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nmm5137
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
this was the cutest idea. and super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I made this cake and it was lovely, very easy to make. I used a small round bowl and pressed it in the middle and cut the circle out that way. I would definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I have made this and it is so easy and so cute! Rather than go through the fuss of making a handle, I go to the dollar store and buy a cheap easter basket. I use wire cutters to cut the handle off and use it in the cake! Sooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Cute idea, easier than others I've seen, and I really like the handle idea. That turned out well. But the ring on top completely fell apart when I tried to frost it. I followed directions, but I was just asking too much of that cake, to have its center cut out, placed on top of another layer, and then smear frosting all over it, including the inside hole. I don't know that I'd attempt this again--maybe a smaller hole, but that'd leave very little room for candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
It was a big hit at the Easter party and it was easy to make. I have made it a few times since trying it. You can also make it a xmas basket by adding fake Pointsettia flowers, winter berries (red hots or w/e candy fits your needs) and decor, and little xmas packages in the center, add garland to the handle or go candy cane style with red and white ribbon on the handle. Let your imagination explore. ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States