East Carolina Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is the best! I have had nothing but compliments on it. The only thing I changed was the amount of vinegar. I cut it in half. Still the best sauce for pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Love it. I put it in many dishes. I put it in pinto beans, burgers, even my tuna noodle dish, and many more. I do have to leave out the cayenne pepper though. I sometimes don't put in the butter either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
spent 20 years living and eating bbq in NC, this recipe is as close as it gets folks. Plain and simple, and tasty!!!! alter the vinegar and peppers to your own taste and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsheridan35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I've spent most of my life in eastern NC and since moving to Pittsburgh I've been looking for something to take the edge off my bbq cravings, this isn't it. Way too greasy and it doesn't have that spicy tang true ENC bbq does. Keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
As a native of eastern NC (Mt. Olive to be exact) I have had bbq sauce all my life. Wilburs, and Scotts out of Goldsboro, Mr. Rodney's in Mt. Olive, and a host of other places near here. My Dad and other members of my family have cooked their own pigs and we made our own sauce. I am 58 yrs old and have NEVER EVER heard of putting butter in this type of sauce. We never put molasses either. I have NO clue where this sauce came from...but definitely not from my neck of the woods!!! Oh and we never put any type of mustard or dark brown sugar either!!! My family loves our sauce on chicken also :)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
My father's side of the family is from Fuquay, NC and I've been pit cooking pork and chicken with "white" sauce (in opposition to the Western NC's "red" sauce which adds tomato) for over 40 years now. No one from my area uses molasses or any other sweetener in our sauce, and there is no need for any butter or fat in the sauce. The meat offers plenty of fat on its own, but I wouldn't try turkey this way without injecting the meat with some fat. Even the dry mustard is unusual, although Uncle Mike uses it in his sauce. My sauce is cider vinegar, cayenne and red pepper flake, salt and a little Worchestershire because I like it. Mop it on liberally and often on side of pork or marinade / inject chicken in sauce before grilling and mop liberally over and in the bird during cooking. Cooking is done low and slow (a pig often takes more than 12 hours to cook properly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BearFromOBX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made it my own with some nutmeg, lemon zest and a pinch of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I will give it three stars since I changed a couple of things. I put a can of tomato sauce in. I skipped the butter. I only used a fourth of a cup or less of cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
My entire clan hales from Eastern NC and I'm ashamed to admit how much pulled pork barbeque I've consumed. The Eastern NC barbeque "sauce" is mostly comprised of vinegar and red pepper and it is a marinade. It doesn't need butter, the pig supplies all the fat needed. This is NOT the real McCoy. If you go to the NC pork web page, you can find the real thing since pork is one of NC's biggest agricultural products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I'm accustomed to tasting all sorts of cuisines. Let me also add, I love sour foods, so with vinegar as the main ingredient, I was really excited to taste this recipe. This is a unique and acquired taste. Even served on bread, the sourness was overwhelming. I would not recommend it for people with a Southern-California palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States