Easiest Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Very easy recipe!!! and good too. To misfit and others who find the juice to be to greasy...This is a very old trick my Grandmother used to do, float a couple of lettuce leaves on top off the juice before placing the sliced meat back in the juice. The lettuce soaks up the grease. Keep doing this until all the grease is gone. MUCH faster than placing juice in the fridge to congeal. I have done this for years! Also, should one find anything too salty, place a pealed potato in what ever, cook for a while, then remove the potato. DON'T EAT potato as it will be very salty. Both of these suggestions are from my Grandmother. She was the BEST cook ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
512 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This was so delicious!!! I did do a few changes. I add a cup of beef broth, and 2 cups water. Then I added a bay leaf, oregano, garlic powder, salt and pepper. So wonderful and flavorful. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
amazing! except we found the jus to be very greasy?? Anything we can do to help this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I did modify this recipe a bit for what I had on hand, which meant that I used a packet of onion soup mix instead of au jus mix, but I otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The beef smelled lovely, and once it was done I removed it from the slow cooker and shredded it. I strained the juices through a sieve to remove the onion, and refrigerated them so the fat would congeal at the top for easy removal. My husband says he prefers this version to the pricey sandwich shop downtown -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This is amazing! I have used this so many times. Key is type of roast and adding the beef broth as mentioned in an earlier quote to keep down the grease content. So easy! thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was great. I used top round london broil, added a can and a half of beef broth and a cup of water to the recipe. Once done, I sliced the meat, put it on a hoagie roll with onions and swiss cheese and toasted it in the oven for five minutes. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Very good and simple. Great for a busy day or a lazy one! I used stock instead of the water for extra flavor . I also used swiss. Don't forget the horseradish. My 4yr old and 6yr old both loved it. My picky husband ate two huge sandwiches. The leftovers are pretty yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Ever since I found this one I have used it at least 5 times. I made for friends on Halloween and they all just loved it called it resturant quality! Nice easy and good everything you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Good Recipe! I put the sandwiches in the oven to melt the cheese and toast the bread! came out really good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fonda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I am going to try every french dip recipe on this website in search of the best. This was very good and easy. an excellent base that can be easily tweaked using ingredients found in other F.D. recipes.(like the one with beer.)To MISFIT-i think it was the meat that made the au jus too greasy!!! Thanks Todi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States