Easiest Pot Roast Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Suprisingly very good. I added 2 c water, 1/4 c red cooking wine, 1 T onion powder, 1 T minced garlic, 1/4 tsp garlic pepper, 1/2 tsp garlic and herb grill mate. Plus, I used 6 potatoes and about 2 c carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is good made as directed, but I felt it needed a little more flavor / complexity. I use a larger roast (5 lbs) rubbed with salt, pepper, garlic, dredged in flour (to thicken the gravy later) and seared in olive oil. For the liquid... beef broth, and I add a few big splashes of red wine (about half a cup). Also put in onion, fresh minced garlic, a couple of rosemary sprigs and a tsp of coriander seeds. Cooked carrots with the roast, but potatoes separately (roasted potatoes, as I don't like everything to taste the same or to be too mushy.) YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanden27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was my first time making a pot roast and I was so pleased how easy and tasty it was! Even my picky three-year old loved it! I only had time to cook it for five hours and my potatoes were not as soft as I liked, so I just microwaved them for a few minutes and then they were perfect! It was probably due to my temperamental 12-year-old crock pot and the fact that I hadn't cut up the potatoes as small as I should have. Next time I'll let it cook a bit longer and cut the potatoes smaller. I also added some steak seasoning to the roast, which gave it a nice flavor. It was juicy and tender. I decided to use the leftovers (including the leftover "gravy" to make a beef stew. I added a can of beef broth, a can of Italian stewed tomatoes and some frozen mixed veggies. It had such a tasty flavor and was some of the best beef stew I've ever had. It was an easy way to make the leftovers into a different second meal. I will continue to use this recipe when I make another roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I decided to make a pot roast for Christmas dinner, so I went searching for slow cooker recipes. Almost everything I came across called for dry onion soup mix which I did not have. Then I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. It came out perfect!! I didn't have any celery and used regular carrots instead of baby, but everything else was the same. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. I cooked my roast on high for 5 hours and it came out super tender and the taste was spectacular. I will only be making my roast this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very good. I put in potatoes, carrots and celery and it turned out very well. I did have to cook mine almost 6 hours on high. Depends on your crock pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aueander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was the easiest pot roast! The flavours were good and my husband loved this recipe. It's a good basic Pot Roast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This recipe is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Delicious, tender and juicy. I used more water than it called for and added a coating of Mrs. Dash seasoning to the top of the roast, it was scrumptious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Root

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nappanee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Soulsbyville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I do believe this is the easiest and tastiest crock pot roast I've ever cooked. I normally cook mine in the oven, but never again. It easy to prepare, and I always season my food, so it was tender and tasty, my family loved it too. I did use beef broth along with a splash or two of red wine...unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made my first pot roast yesterday and decided to add a heaping TBSP of horseradish mustard AND some dill weed. OMG! It turned out so good! I seared the meat, then put it aside. I then started the broth and vegies on the stove in a dutch oven and as soon as it was simmering, I put the roast in and shoved it to the bottom. Cooked in the oven for 2 hours at 350, then 1 hour at 250...YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States