Easiest Pot Roast Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
a little under seasoned, but thats me, on my side not due to the recipe. I used 4 cubes of bullion but I also used a CHEAP roast. NOTE: DO NOT USE CHEAP MEAT. pay the extra 3-4 dollars, get the good stuff, you wont kick yourself later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was very easy, and was exactly what I was looking for... I over cooked mine so it was a little dry and put too much beef bullion in so it was a bit salty, but if I wasn't contending with that it would definitely be 4 stars! Adding to my recipe box now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was by far the best pot roast I've ever made, and it was quite easy to do. Much better than anything my mother ever made. I made one change, though, and I HIGHLY recommend it. My wife doesn't like celery, so in lieu of that, I used a large stalk & root of fennel. The results were spectacular. The texture remains somewhat close to celery, but it infuses the whole dish with a light anise flavor. Great dish, easy to make... don't forget the fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is very good. Instead of water I used beef stock mixed with a packet of seasoning mix for pot roast for flavor. I also browned the beef and cut slits in the roast and filled with garlic as someone suggested before adding in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Super easy, but I found that all of the ingredients wouldn't actually fit in my crock pot. So, I had to take several large spoonfuls of the potatoes and carrots out to fit in all the meat. I'm not a huge red meat fan, so I don't think I would make this all the time. But for a pot roast, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Easy and AMAZING! I didn't add the potatoes (made mashed potatoes instead), added 2 bay leaves, a sprinkle of garlic powder, and upped the water to 1 cup. Once finished cooking, I used the cooking liquid to make gravy. Adding this to the weekly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Excellent and easy. Used additional spices/flavorings and liquid as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
My pot roast turned out drier than expected. I used the 3/4 c. of water that was suggested in the reviews, but it was still dry. I think part of the problem is that I set the meat on top of the veg like it said to do, and that prevented the meat from being immersed in the liquid. Next time I will set the meat in the pot and put the veg around it, and I also won't put the potatoes in until a few hours into cooking b/c they were totally obliterated. I added a small amount of dry onion soup mix as suggested as well. The taste was great, it was just too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
First pot roast that I've tasted in years that was this delicious! I took the advice about the wine and the broth rather than bouillon. All loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We did not like this roast at all. I put in all my ingredients as the recipe says and then put in the 1/2 cup of water. I knew as soon as I poured it in that it wasn't going to be enough liquid but I let it go anyways, trusting everyone elses reviews. I was so disappointed when I got home and found my roast still sitting on top of the potatoes, not liquid around it. I ended up adding 3 cups of water and 3 more bullion cubes, just for some "juice". I will not be making this again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States