Easiest Pot Roast Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is a terrific, easy-to-do recipe for pot roast. I love the simplicity, particularly for my college-age daughters and parents who are rushing out the door to work in the morning. While I appreciate the many "reviews" of the recipe, in fact most folks are completely rewriting the recipe. One of the "most helpful critical reviews" adds nine additional ingredients! That's not a review, that's another recipe altogether! Submit it as such, please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was very easy, and my husband liked it a lot. Rubbed the roast with salt, pepper, garlic powder and basil and added a bay leaf to the crock pot. Used beef broth (10 oz) and no water, and thickened the liquid with a flour water slurry while the roast rested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Very good starter recipe. I too added some spices, once using an onion soup packet and the other time I just threw in what sounded good from the spice rack. Each time...Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This really is super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Family found it very bland, however, the meat was very tender and juicy. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Browned Chuck Roast. Added 1/2 cup red wine, can of beef broth and a can of cream of roasted garlic and mushroom soup. Omitted the cubes/water. Cooked high for 3 hours and low for 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Because I was having guests over for dinner after church I prepared the vegetables and meat the the night before. I used 6 large red potatoes, 3 small-medium onions, some celery for flavor, a few more carrots, and floured and browned the roast. After placing the vegetables and roast in the crockpot I covered the meat with Montreal seasoning and Lipton's onion soup mix. After pouring in the beef broth, I then placed the crock in the refrigerator. At 5:45 a.m. I turned the crockpot on high for 3 1/2 hours then turned it to low when I walked out the door. Returning home at 12:45, I put a bag of frozen peas in a casserole dish and microwaved it for 8-10 minutes. Dinner is served! The key to a tender roast is choosing one with lots of marbling. Cooking it on low for 8 hours would have been my preference but I was a bit short on time. Thanks to all who made suggestions so I could adapt the basic recipe using a few things already in the cupboard. I have made this before with the original recipe and found it tasty and tender as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Love love LOVE this roast!! I use it every time I do roast. Very simple and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Koller

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seagoville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
My husband loved this dinner!!! The meat came out so tender and juicy. I did tweak the recipe just a tad to our own taste. I used about 2blsp cornstarch added about 1 and half cup of water. browned meat with a 2splashes of red wine for a few min then place it in the bottom poured water mix over it added some spices to our taste some worchester sauce,chili flakes,thyme,oregano,basil,chili pepper. layered potatoes,and carrots on top (didn't have celery added sliced pepper) and cooked on low for 8hrs. Wonderful and easy recipe would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Very tasty and very easy! So many of these pot roast recipes use cream of mushroom soup or onion soup mix, happy to finally find one that's really "homemade"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States