Easiest Pot Roast Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Easy and AMAZING! I didn't add the potatoes (made mashed potatoes instead), added 2 bay leaves, a sprinkle of garlic powder, and upped the water to 1 cup. Once finished cooking, I used the cooking liquid to make gravy. Adding this to the weekly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Excellent and easy. Used additional spices/flavorings and liquid as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
My pot roast turned out drier than expected. I used the 3/4 c. of water that was suggested in the reviews, but it was still dry. I think part of the problem is that I set the meat on top of the veg like it said to do, and that prevented the meat from being immersed in the liquid. Next time I will set the meat in the pot and put the veg around it, and I also won't put the potatoes in until a few hours into cooking b/c they were totally obliterated. I added a small amount of dry onion soup mix as suggested as well. The taste was great, it was just too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
First pot roast that I've tasted in years that was this delicious! I took the advice about the wine and the broth rather than bouillon. All loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We did not like this roast at all. I put in all my ingredients as the recipe says and then put in the 1/2 cup of water. I knew as soon as I poured it in that it wasn't going to be enough liquid but I let it go anyways, trusting everyone elses reviews. I was so disappointed when I got home and found my roast still sitting on top of the potatoes, not liquid around it. I ended up adding 3 cups of water and 3 more bullion cubes, just for some "juice". I will not be making this again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Suprisingly very good. I added 2 c water, 1/4 c red cooking wine, 1 T onion powder, 1 T minced garlic, 1/4 tsp garlic pepper, 1/2 tsp garlic and herb grill mate. Plus, I used 6 potatoes and about 2 c carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is good made as directed, but I felt it needed a little more flavor / complexity. I use a larger roast (5 lbs) rubbed with salt, pepper, garlic, dredged in flour (to thicken the gravy later) and seared in olive oil. For the liquid... beef broth, and I add a few big splashes of red wine (about half a cup). Also put in onion, fresh minced garlic, a couple of rosemary sprigs and a tsp of coriander seeds. Cooked carrots with the roast, but potatoes separately (roasted potatoes, as I don't like everything to taste the same or to be too mushy.) YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanden27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was my first time making a pot roast and I was so pleased how easy and tasty it was! Even my picky three-year old loved it! I only had time to cook it for five hours and my potatoes were not as soft as I liked, so I just microwaved them for a few minutes and then they were perfect! It was probably due to my temperamental 12-year-old crock pot and the fact that I hadn't cut up the potatoes as small as I should have. Next time I'll let it cook a bit longer and cut the potatoes smaller. I also added some steak seasoning to the roast, which gave it a nice flavor. It was juicy and tender. I decided to use the leftovers (including the leftover "gravy" to make a beef stew. I added a can of beef broth, a can of Italian stewed tomatoes and some frozen mixed veggies. It had such a tasty flavor and was some of the best beef stew I've ever had. It was an easy way to make the leftovers into a different second meal. I will continue to use this recipe when I make another roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I decided to make a pot roast for Christmas dinner, so I went searching for slow cooker recipes. Almost everything I came across called for dry onion soup mix which I did not have. Then I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. It came out perfect!! I didn't have any celery and used regular carrots instead of baby, but everything else was the same. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. I cooked my roast on high for 5 hours and it came out super tender and the taste was spectacular. I will only be making my roast this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very good. I put in potatoes, carrots and celery and it turned out very well. I did have to cook mine almost 6 hours on high. Depends on your crock pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aueander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States