Easiest Pot Roast Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Because I was having guests over for dinner after church I prepared the vegetables and meat the the night before. I used 6 large red potatoes, 3 small-medium onions, some celery for flavor, a few more carrots, and floured and browned the roast. After placing the vegetables and roast in the crockpot I covered the meat with Montreal seasoning and Lipton's onion soup mix. After pouring in the beef broth, I then placed the crock in the refrigerator. At 5:45 a.m. I turned the crockpot on high for 3 1/2 hours then turned it to low when I walked out the door. Returning home at 12:45, I put a bag of frozen peas in a casserole dish and microwaved it for 8-10 minutes. Dinner is served! The key to a tender roast is choosing one with lots of marbling. Cooking it on low for 8 hours would have been my preference but I was a bit short on time. Thanks to all who made suggestions so I could adapt the basic recipe using a few things already in the cupboard. I have made this before with the original recipe and found it tasty and tender as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Love love LOVE this roast!! I use it every time I do roast. Very simple and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Koller

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seagoville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
My husband loved this dinner!!! The meat came out so tender and juicy. I did tweak the recipe just a tad to our own taste. I used about 2blsp cornstarch added about 1 and half cup of water. browned meat with a 2splashes of red wine for a few min then place it in the bottom poured water mix over it added some spices to our taste some worchester sauce,chili flakes,thyme,oregano,basil,chili pepper. layered potatoes,and carrots on top (didn't have celery added sliced pepper) and cooked on low for 8hrs. Wonderful and easy recipe would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Very tasty and very easy! So many of these pot roast recipes use cream of mushroom soup or onion soup mix, happy to finally find one that's really "homemade"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is a great way to introduce yourself to the crock pot world. I use broth instead of the water and add random spices to the meat to kick up the flavor. So good and so little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Never liked pot roast, but this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe lacked taste in my opinion. Everything came out very tender but I think that if I make it again, I will probably add something like a dry onion soup mix or some kind of seasoning to it. It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Love it but made some adjustments based on other reviews. Placed 2 cut up celery stalks, 3 regular cut up (not baby) carrots, and 2 cut up parsnips in the bottom of the crock and covered with 1 c beef stock and 5 pats butter. Trimmed and placed 3 lb chuck roast on the veggies. I mixed one can cream chicken/mushroom flavor (a new single can combo Campbells offers now) with 1 c beef stock till smooth, then poured all over, concentrating on covering roast. I cooked 4.5 hours on 6 hr high setting, then added halved "yellow gold" (two-bite) boiling potatoes, pressing down into the soup/gravy to cover. I cooked an additional 60 minutes, at which time I took out the roast, put the crock on "warm", and set the meat aside on a cutting board to "rest" for 1/2 hour. The roast was perfect...potatoes perfect..."gravy" awesome. Carrots and parsnips perfect. Only complaint is the celery was mushy. I made the whole recipe a second time, trying to add the celery later in the cooking process (at the same time I added in the potatoes) to try to keep some *bite* to it. However, the celery was stringy and floppy (I'm calling this under-done). The stringy-ness made the celery undesirable and kind-of chewy. So, I don't know what to do. I love mushy celery in soup...but I would like a little more *bite* (without the strings) to my pot roast celery. Any advice? Please send me a message!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather L Ten Eyck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Yum Yummy Yum... Thank you for sharing... This is the first time I bought this type of roast and you made it easy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
skipped celery and added more seasoning. Made thicker gravy out of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States