Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wonderful! I just made a test batch since I'm auditioning frostings for a wedding cake, and it came out fabulous! I actually halved the butter fearing it would be too "buttery" as some of the prior reviews mentioned, but I think I might add more (if not all) next time. Besides, when reducing the butter, you'd have to cut the sugar a bit in order to account for the lesser volume. I put a little aside, and added a little espresso powder and a little cocoa powder for a mild mocha, and that was great too. I used it for piping, and it piped well. This recipe is the one I'm using for the wedding cake; chocolate cake, mocha buttercream filling, vanilla buttercream frosting and decoration. This is a Swiss meringue buttercream, and I think it's much easier than the Italian buttercream that I tried making before. Oh, I also heated the egg whites to 160*F to eliminate salmonella concerns; recipe turned out fine for me. I used an electric hand mixer, not a stand one also; took a little longer, but the results were good. ****Voice of Experience- DO NOT USE PRE-PACKAGED LIQUID EGG WHITES. They will NOT work (or not well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Make sure your bowl and beaters are free of grease. Also room temperature eggs are best. If you have a gas stove you can put the eggs in the oven the day before because the piolet light will make them the perfect temp. Also you can use stabilzing agents. Wonderful recipe. Definately will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Oh my! Awesome icing! If you enjoy an icing that is creamy and decadent that is not overly sugary sweet, this is THE ONE! Had no issues with separating, used a candy thermometer for eggs and sugar, stand mixer for 7 minutes and cut the butter into very small cubes and threw into mixture one at a time. Excellent results! Decorated a Little Mermaid cake with it - colored beautifully! A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leesa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof2
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This frosting is excellent! I reduced the butter to 2 cups and heated the eggs to 160 to be on the safe side. I thought I had ruined it but like the directions said, just keep mixing it and it will come back together. I used it to frost frog cupcakes from this site with my son and it worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Soooo good! Tastes great, and is a smooth, luxurious texture. After I started adding butter, it turned soupy and wouldn't firm up with beating. I stuck the bowl in the fridge for about 15 minutes and resumed beating it, and that was all it needed. Great! I found a video on YouTube that helped too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
smooth, creamy, and not too sweet. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skunkee
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I can't say enough good things about this recipe: Simple ingredients, Easy instructions, Wonderful taste and texture. I am definitely keeping this one. As others have said, the only thing that I did differently was to cook the eggs to 160 degrees. It turned out perfectly. I don't see it mentioned anywhere, however after I frosted the cake, I did place it in the 'fridge fora while and it only got better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
*** Couple of notes for people who are having trouble!! First, your egg whites should actually be heated to about 160 degrees, not 140! An easy way to tell without using a thermometer is to dip the tip of your finger into the mixture and rub the mixture between your fingers. If the mixture doesn't feel grainy at all, you're good to go (I also whisk the eggs constantly while heating). Second, when you beat the egg white mixture, make sure it comes to room temperature before adding the butter (and make sure the butter is unsalted, otherwise your buttercream will taste salty). Just feel the bowl of your mixer, and if it no longer feels warm, the beaten eggs have come to room temperature. And finally, the most important: DO NOT THROW AWAY YOUR BUTTERCREAM IF IT APPEARS SOUPY!!! This is normal and really, really should be mentioned in the directions for this recipe. Your buttercream may appear curdled at first, but it will come back together. Then it will most likely appear soupy. All you have to do is put your mixer on the highest speed and beat the out of it and I promise that it will stiffen up! Don't throw all the lovely buttercream away because you think you've done something wrong. You haven't!! Make sure to follow these tips and try the recipe! It won't disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
331 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I can't believe how good this is! While my egg white/sugar mixture never seemed to increase in volume to any degree (perhaps because I used raw sugar?), it still came out wonderful. It is not too sweet and is very smooth. Because of the egg whites, however it might be advisable to refrigerate this after icing the cake. I used this for my son's dragon cake for his 11th birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Nice, easy recipe. For the reviewers that had trouble, there's a simple fix. You have to wait until until your egg/sugar mixture is room temperature before adding the butter. This will take at LEAST 10 minutes of whipping. I usually set my KA on high and then go do something else so I'm not tempted to add the butter too soon. If also doesn't hurt to use slightly chilled butter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States