Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Awesome buttercream - the smooth non-grainy recipe I have been looking for! I didn't use nearly as much butter as written but still love it. Next time will make up the night before and chill. Added some sifted cocoa powder to frost a 9 inch yellow cake drizzled with cointreau for my boys' birthday. Can't wait for my next cake to make some variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I used only 2 cups butter and found it to be enough buttery flavor, also added a pinch of salt. It was not too difficult to make using an electric hand blender with the whisk attachment(for the egg whites and sugar mixing), and a stand mixer for the rest. Overall it takes some time to make, around 30-40 min., and it was good but not great for my taste. I think I prefer a simple meringue (egg whites, sugar and water) over this. I am not sure if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
For those who thought this was way too buttery, you can reduce the butter to 3 sticks (1 1/2 cups) and still get a nice fluffy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Experimenting with frosting for my daughter's birthday as no one in my house likes the "sickly sweet" stuff. I had no problems with the recipe at all. It is not what I would call sweet but for me a bit too much like sweetened whipped butter. In all fairness I've yet too taste it with the cake so it may compliment that beautifully??? Otherwise I would reduce the butter as others have suggested. The texture is beautiful and creamy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
People who are ending up with yellow soupy icing: your meringue is not cool enough and your butter is too soft. When you are adding it to the egg whites it is melting the butter which causes the fat to separate from the milk solids which causes oily runny frosting. The butter should be soft but not glistening and the meringue should be lukewarm when you add it. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe is my favorite that I've ever found on this website. It is incredible! If I could give it 10 stars I would. I love the texture of the frosting along with the taste and it has this glossy look to it that is so professional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I didn't care to work with egg whites so I used meringue powder which could be why this wasn't a great recipe for me. Once I beat the egg white substitute with the sugar I followed the rest of the recipe. This is a good base for a great frosting but it lacked flavor which is why I gave it three stars. The frosting did break down and after mixing for about another 10 minutes it came back together and it was easy to frost the cake with but once I put it in the fridge even after letting it sit out for the whole day it still felt and tasted like butter maybe I will do 2 cups instead of 3 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is sooo good! I've never made meringue frosting before but this kicked butt! I think the key is using a stand mixer. I ended up only using 5 sticks of butter instead of 6 and it came out great. I would recommend adding some salt or using 2 sticks of unsalted butter. On it being too buttery: Yes this does taste buttery but it tastes sweet and meringue-y too. I don't like "american" buttercream simply because they are too sweet. In this recipe there is less sugar which I like. Try it if you've never had it. i I iced a yellow cake with this vanilla frosting and it tasted like a gourmet twinkie :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Best buttercream ever! I've searched high and low for a good frosting recipe that does NOT include powdered sugar, which is overly sweet and grainy. This is so smooth it melts in your mouth. If anything, a bit too rich is the only criticism. And of course, it has to be refridgerated, which makes it very firm, but softens up a bit if left out a while. I've had friends declare they want their birthday cake made with this. Also, not at all difficult to make, but you need a stand mixer. It's great--thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Junebug
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Very simple to make and DELICIOUS! Everytime I use this recipe people rave. Definitely my go to recipe for buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States