Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
REALLY REALLY REALLY GOOD! I was worried when it started to curdle, but i kept mixing it and it came together beautifully. It's a nice sturdy buttercream that frosts and pipes really well and it tastes absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jangmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I think the directions should be clarified. Mine also came out soupy, even after whipping for 15 mins! Use the whisk attachment to get the egg whites fluffy, then switch to the paddle attachment when ready to add the butter. I had a soupy mixture until I switched. Other meringue recipes used just the whisk, but that didn't work for me. Don't give up if you have a soupy mixture. After about 30-40mins working at this, I finally got it! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
More detailed directions. Whisk egg whites, then add sugar & stir thoroughly. Place in double boiler (metal bowl didn't work so I put a smaller saucepan into a bigger one). Stir constantly until temp reaches 160 degrees. Pour into mixing bowl. Whip to soft peak stage. Allow bowl to COOL! Add chunks of butter (1/2 - 1 tablespoon sized pieces). Mix until texture is smooth. No soup. Great taste. This will become your go-to frosting. The recipe amount made plenty for a 9 inch 2 layer cake. I saved the rest & am eating it a teaspoon at a time. It's that yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
VERY GOOD! I've been looking for a buttercream that isn't loaded with shortening and confectioners sugar. I'm wondering how it will store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I have been looking for a beautiful buttercream icing for a long time. This is definitely the one. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of heating the whites and sugar to 160F. I would not recommend reducing the butter. I made lemon cupcakes and topped with this icing and lemon sauce. My 7 year old gave me 15 Stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
this recipe is excellent. its simple and easy. instead of 3 cups of butter i used only 2 cups and it stayed nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
It took me 2 tries to get this one right. The first time I didn't heat the eggs long enough--- second time I made sure ALL the sugar was dissolved. Turned out light and silky, but a bit too buttery. Overall pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
So smooth and creamy and delicious! Not too sweet. Perfect consistency and I love how bright white it is. I'll never use another frosting recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe is amazing! It gave me the fluffy topped-up cupcake icing I was looking for. I used my Kitchenaid to mix everything - waiting until the melted sugar and egg white mixture was warm (just above room temp) before mixing. The icing started to look greasy and fall once I got to the half way point of adding butter, just like they said, but I just kept the machine mixing and it eventually came back. Anyhoo - I went with 2 cups of butter instead of 3 and it turned out great. I even used low fat butter (50 ml of sodium) since I could not find unsalted and it turned out perfectly, however I could taste the salt a little. I believe you do really need to find unsalted butter, full fat butter to get the maximum benefit from this recipe. I also think you need to be prepared to doing a lot of mixing! I will return to using the recipe again and again - thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States