Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the most amazing frosting in the universe!!!! I fell in love at first lick! It is smooth, creamy, fluffy, light, and wonderful!!!!!! This is my new go-to recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladyinthewoods
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Yum! Finally found a buttercream that doesn't taste like sweetened butter! For those having troubles, you DO have to beat the egg whites for a long time. It appears soupy at first and even I was wondering if I screwed it up despite that tips. I kept on beating however and finally it stiffened up a bit. Then I put the butter in little by little and it curdled up a bit. I kept beating it as the tips said, and eventually it became buttercream consistency. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitsl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I found this recipe made a frosting that is way too rich from too much butter. here are some techniques that make a successful meringue buttercream: 1. cut butter in pieces before starting; remove from fridge 5 minutes before you add to meringue. 2. use room temp egg whites (place the whole eggs in bowl of hot water about 10 minutes). 3. Whisk egg whites and add sugar gradually over hot water (don't just wait for it to heat up). Remove the meringue from heat is when it is completely smooth; when you rub some between your fingers, there is no grit at all from the sugar. I live at high altitude so the temp method doesn't work for me, but this smooth-meringue technique works perfectly every time. Use superfine sugar (pulse sugar in food processor until fine) to help make a smooth meringue more easily. 4. Butter can only be added to room temp meringue! Whisk until it's absolutely cool; the mixing bowl will be at room temp, as will a dab of meringue on your wrist. This can take up to 10 minutes of whisking. You may have added butter to warm meringue. 5. Wait until butter you just added is completely mixed in before adding next piece; scrape bowl. If frosting is too soft or curdled, whip, whip whip and it will come together. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
It work for me with just the 2 cups of butter and I wait until the bowl was cool to put in the butter so it wouldn't be soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Cut sugar to 1 1/2 C., and butter to 2 cups, and it was perfect! I love this frosting... (4 stars just because I cut the sugar/butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Very very very buttery. Go beyond room temp to cool before you put your butter in. Once in the mixer don't use a whisk attachment at all. The eggs may not stiffen up right away but will still be ready for the butter and vanilla and won't turn to soup because it starts out soupy. I thought it just was too buttery tasting, so I added 1/4 cup powdered sugar and a couple tablespoons of heavy cream and it helped. This recipe is used professionally by those who don't like shortening, however it really isn't perfect for the basic family get together with family members watching their cholesterol. If you really like butter then try an icing like the icing with the recipe; Red Velvet Cake I - You will be happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakemorecake
Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This recipe is easy to make, tastes delicious and has a very pleasing texture. I live in an area that gets pretty hot, so I've had trouble in the past with other meringue buttercreams. This recipe even came out perfect on a day with high humidity (83%). Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I didn't have egg whites so I used meringue powder. Added about 1 cup of melted chocolate chips add the very end. DO NOT STOP MIXING! You feel like you are never going to get there, but eventually it turned into cool-whip like texture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Awesome!!! I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time, this is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States