Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Extremely easy to make and absolutely divine to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I would have to rate it three start because of the taste. It is very cream and fluffy but the only thing i did not like is that it basically taste like if you were eating butter then you get this after taste in your mouth which to me it was not good. i was wondering if i did something wrong or its just like that. Had really high hopes on this one....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was so good and creamy! I followed the tips and whisked the egg whites and sugar until they reached 160 and weren't grainy at all. It took a little time to make and was well worth it. I'll be using this for all my homemade frosting projects. It wasn't overly sweet. Smooth and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARMONKEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I really wanted to love this, but it's just not that great. I didn't use all the butter and it still really tasted like butter, so I'm glad I didn't use it all! (It didn't taste bad, but it would have if I had used it all). Then I couldn't get it to firm up (maybe because I didn't use all the butter?) so I ended up having to add a lot of powdered sugar to get it stiff enough to frost a cupcake and not have it dripping off the sides. And I DID beat it forever with a stand mixer hoping it would firm up, but it never really did. It did taste great, but the texture was a deal-breaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Hate to give a recipe one star, but not a flavor we liked. Too buttery-even tried cutting down to a suggested amount. Sorry. Maybe you will like it seems several do. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I live this recipe. I learned about it in a decorating class. This recipe is great for beginner icers as you can totally play with it and when it gets a little soft from playing with it you can add make to the fridge and beat it again at it is still wonderful. NOTE: if you do not cook the egg whites to right consistency you will not have icing you will have soup. You need to make sure the egg mixture is perfectly smooth that all the sugar has melted and the consistency should be somewhere between corn syrup and molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hector
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is a perfect frosting! Loved it! Excellent! I've used it for my last two cakes. The texture is awesome! you just have to be persistent and mix the heck out of it. Here are my recommendations: Heat the eggs whites and sugar until the sugar dissolves completely. Mix them until you notice that it reaches the consistency of an Italian meringue. I only used 2 1/2 cups of butter (1 1/2 unsalted and 1 with salt) I did this because I always put some salt on my sweets, it makes the flavor pop out. Incorporate butter little by little (unsalted first, then salted). The end result should be totally creamy, uniform and fluffy frosting that melts in your mouth. Enjoy! PS: I think I will be sticking to this recipe for a very long time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hector

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the most amazing frosting in the universe!!!! I fell in love at first lick! It is smooth, creamy, fluffy, light, and wonderful!!!!!! This is my new go-to recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladyinthewoods
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Yum! Finally found a buttercream that doesn't taste like sweetened butter! For those having troubles, you DO have to beat the egg whites for a long time. It appears soupy at first and even I was wondering if I screwed it up despite that tips. I kept on beating however and finally it stiffened up a bit. Then I put the butter in little by little and it curdled up a bit. I kept beating it as the tips said, and eventually it became buttercream consistency. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitsl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States