Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Love the texture of this frosting. I like the flavor as well but next time I would start tasting it after adding 2.5 cups of butter and see if the last 1/2c is needed, as I thought the butter taste was strong. The vanilla helps cover some of that. I had no problem with the directions, read the most helpful review, and never had any soupyness. This is worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Made a half batch today and loved it! This is so much better than those frosting recipes made with tons of powdered sugar. This recipe closely resembles the frosting on my favorite bakery's cakes. Followed the directions carefully, except added a small amount of whipping cream for extra fluffiness. It didn't turn runny or soupy during the process at all. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is a great recipe. I think that the problem some people are having is that they are putting in the butter too early. It's best to wait until the outside of the bowl is cool to the touch. If it turns soupy, just keep the mixer running. It will come together. Remember: 3 cups of butter = 6 sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
LOVE this frosting. I don't have a candy thermometer, so I whisked my egg and sugar over heat until it was smooth with no grit. After I beat it, I waited for it to cool until adding butter like other posters suggested. PERFECTION. Will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I thought these were lusciously smooth. The texture is not for everyone as my husband disliked it whilst my daughter loved it. Although i had frosted my cupcakes with this the first time, it didn't quite go well with the overall texture, but definitely will go well with a chiffon cake. The only change I made was to add an extra egg white and read different techniques from reviewers here and blogs elsewhere like using one bowl for double broiling and beating, egg whites/sugar must reach 160*F, butter must be soft but cold, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My first time ever making this frosting. I was so worried by some reviews that it wouldn't turn out. I used the finger test with the egg and sugar mixture, once the sugar was dissolved I transferred it to another bowl and mixed it on high for 10min. Then I added 2 cups of butter a little at a time, it didn't separate at all. Then I added the vanilla and about 1 tablespoon (didn't measure) of cocoa powder. This was awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This really is the only icing recipe you will ever need. I just made this this afternoon and I can't believe how easy it is and how good it tastes. It is not overly sweet, and has a nice buttery taste. It holds it shape well and is very light and fluffy. I have searched for years for a perfect buttercream and now I have found it. I would highly recommend taking the advice of the "most helpful positive review" post(directly under recipe). I followed her advice and it came out perfect the very first time. Definately a keeper for me! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This recipe is awesome!!! It was super easy to make and came out so silky and smooth. It glided on the cake making it so easy to ice. The consistency of this buttercream is very similar to a italian buttercream. The flavor is great its not to sweet. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I halved this and had enought to lightly frost 18 cupcakes. I also added cocoa powder and it was heavenly... I didn't have a thermometer to measure the temp I just put a small glass bowl over a medium stainless steel pot with simmering water until sugar and whites were hot to the touch and the sugar was dissolved. I looked online after the fact and found that you can pasturize eggs before cracking by placing them in a pot of water until it heats to 150 degrees. Look it up on your search engine I don't remember the amount of time you have to let them sit. Thanks for the recipe this is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Castaic, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Thankfully, I tried this recipe on an occasion when there were other desserts. I read all the reviews and used some of the hints. I wanted to use only two cups of butter because three seemed like so much, but I bought three just in case. Sort of glad I did because, after two cups, I had the soupy mess others have mentioned. I added the third cup and comtinued beating, It did look like it was starting to separate but, then, suddenly, turned into a thick, smooth, fluffy and beautiful frosting. The only problem?: it tasted like butter. It was very greasy and tasted like eating whipped butter. I put it on the cake anyway and got no compliments. I didn't get to see how many people ate the cake and discarded the frosting. I refrigerated some of the leftover frosting (the recipe makes a lot!) and we used some of it tonight, instead of butter, on cornbread. Really too bad because it looked so beautiful on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States