Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I have another that is similar to this.It also has white chocolate, orange zest, whipping cream. With less butter. I like it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Egbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I was skeptical of making this icing because of the reviews, but it is actually the best icing I've made. I followed partly this recipe and partly a review on here. While its mixing, allow the sugar and egg white mixture to get to room temperature before adding the butter. Also, before starting the recipe, take the butter out of the fridge to allow it to get to room temperature; this allows the butter to blend nicely afterwards. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Thank you for this recipe. I have tried other Swiss meringue buttercreams and they were all a lot of work with a lot of extra steps compared to this. This recipe was really easy. I used 6 egg whites and only 1 cup of sugar (because I was adding a raspberry syrup at the end that was also sweet) and 4 sticks (2 cups) of butter because I wasn't paying attention. I heated up a pot of water and just put the Kitchenaid mixer bowl with the egg whites and sugar in it on top of that as a double boiler and heated it until it reached 150 degrees. I then took the bowl off the water, put the bowl on the mixer and whipped the egg whites/sugar mixture until I had stiff peaks - I didn't bother to let it cool first because it cooled while it was whipping. I then added the butter one slice at a time (I used the whisk attachment for all of it)and surprisingly, it didn't even get all that soupy before it came together. I then added the raspberry syrup (I made from a bag of frozen raspberries, 1 cup sugar and 1/2 of cup of water and boiled until it reduced down a little and then strained out the seeds)until I got the flavor I wanted. Not only was it delicious - not too sweet - it was very smooth and silky. So much easier than other recipes I have tried. Finally a Swiss meringue buttercream that turns out well and that I won't dread making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I've been making this for both of my sons' birthday cakes for 5 years. This is by far the best and easiest buttercream recipe I've ever seen! I've made many gorgeous, professional quality cakes with this recipe and it's ALWAYS A HIT!!! It spreads, well, like butter! :) LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! Highly recommend it and it's perfect for beginners and pros alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Genovich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was the first time that I have ever tried any type of buttercream and I am so pleased. It was so easy! I followed the directions and I had absolutely no problems. I do think the key is to make sure that after you get your egg white and sugar mixture heated until it is no longer grainy (I kept whisking mine) is to put it on the highest speed that you can using your stand mixer. I used my whisk attachment and turned it on high for about 5-7 minutes and it was such a beautiful white fluffy cloud. Then I kept the mixer going as I added my butter that was room temperature (little pinches), and it never broke down, it pretty much just took form from there into a gorgeous buttercream. I never knew I could make anything that looked like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I made some adjustments and followed some other reviews so I only gave it 4 stars but it turned out amazing! I was looking for something not too sweet but still able to hold up and this was perfect. I did choose to wait a little bit longer for the initial mixture to cool before I added the butter but I kept the mixer going. I was a little leary about all the butter, so I tasted it after each stick of butter and stopped when it was perfect at probably a little over half the called for amount. I just scraped pieces off the stick with a butter knife and plopped them in while the mixer went. After adding the last of the butter I turned it to high and it fluffed up very nicely. Tested it with David's yellow cake and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
For those having trouble with this recipe, try cooling the egg white and sugar mixture BEFORE adding the butter. Try it again making sure the egg whites and sugar mixture are cooled before adding the butter, I bet it will turn out better the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Love the texture of this frosting. I like the flavor as well but next time I would start tasting it after adding 2.5 cups of butter and see if the last 1/2c is needed, as I thought the butter taste was strong. The vanilla helps cover some of that. I had no problem with the directions, read the most helpful review, and never had any soupyness. This is worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Made a half batch today and loved it! This is so much better than those frosting recipes made with tons of powdered sugar. This recipe closely resembles the frosting on my favorite bakery's cakes. Followed the directions carefully, except added a small amount of whipping cream for extra fluffiness. It didn't turn runny or soupy during the process at all. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is a great recipe. I think that the problem some people are having is that they are putting in the butter too early. It's best to wait until the outside of the bowl is cool to the touch. If it turns soupy, just keep the mixer running. It will come together. Remember: 3 cups of butter = 6 sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States