Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I made some adjustments and followed some other reviews so I only gave it 4 stars but it turned out amazing! I was looking for something not too sweet but still able to hold up and this was perfect. I did choose to wait a little bit longer for the initial mixture to cool before I added the butter but I kept the mixer going. I was a little leary about all the butter, so I tasted it after each stick of butter and stopped when it was perfect at probably a little over half the called for amount. I just scraped pieces off the stick with a butter knife and plopped them in while the mixer went. After adding the last of the butter I turned it to high and it fluffed up very nicely. Tested it with David's yellow cake and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
For those having trouble with this recipe, try cooling the egg white and sugar mixture BEFORE adding the butter. Try it again making sure the egg whites and sugar mixture are cooled before adding the butter, I bet it will turn out better the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Love the texture of this frosting. I like the flavor as well but next time I would start tasting it after adding 2.5 cups of butter and see if the last 1/2c is needed, as I thought the butter taste was strong. The vanilla helps cover some of that. I had no problem with the directions, read the most helpful review, and never had any soupyness. This is worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Made a half batch today and loved it! This is so much better than those frosting recipes made with tons of powdered sugar. This recipe closely resembles the frosting on my favorite bakery's cakes. Followed the directions carefully, except added a small amount of whipping cream for extra fluffiness. It didn't turn runny or soupy during the process at all. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is a great recipe. I think that the problem some people are having is that they are putting in the butter too early. It's best to wait until the outside of the bowl is cool to the touch. If it turns soupy, just keep the mixer running. It will come together. Remember: 3 cups of butter = 6 sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
LOVE this frosting. I don't have a candy thermometer, so I whisked my egg and sugar over heat until it was smooth with no grit. After I beat it, I waited for it to cool until adding butter like other posters suggested. PERFECTION. Will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I thought these were lusciously smooth. The texture is not for everyone as my husband disliked it whilst my daughter loved it. Although i had frosted my cupcakes with this the first time, it didn't quite go well with the overall texture, but definitely will go well with a chiffon cake. The only change I made was to add an extra egg white and read different techniques from reviewers here and blogs elsewhere like using one bowl for double broiling and beating, egg whites/sugar must reach 160*F, butter must be soft but cold, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My first time ever making this frosting. I was so worried by some reviews that it wouldn't turn out. I used the finger test with the egg and sugar mixture, once the sugar was dissolved I transferred it to another bowl and mixed it on high for 10min. Then I added 2 cups of butter a little at a time, it didn't separate at all. Then I added the vanilla and about 1 tablespoon (didn't measure) of cocoa powder. This was awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This really is the only icing recipe you will ever need. I just made this this afternoon and I can't believe how easy it is and how good it tastes. It is not overly sweet, and has a nice buttery taste. It holds it shape well and is very light and fluffy. I have searched for years for a perfect buttercream and now I have found it. I would highly recommend taking the advice of the "most helpful positive review" post(directly under recipe). I followed her advice and it came out perfect the very first time. Definately a keeper for me! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This recipe is awesome!!! It was super easy to make and came out so silky and smooth. It glided on the cake making it so easy to ice. The consistency of this buttercream is very similar to a italian buttercream. The flavor is great its not to sweet. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States